linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Bill Wendling <morbo@google.com>, Bill Wendling <wcw@google.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>,
	Fangrui Song <maskray@google.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	Jarmo Tiitto <jarmo.tiitto@gmail.com>,
	Lukas Bulwahn <lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@kernel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [GIT PULL] Clang feature updates for v5.14-rc1
Date: Mon, 28 Jun 2021 19:49:04 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHk-=whqCT0BeqBQhW8D-YoLLgp_eFY=8Y=9ieREM5xx0ef08w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <202106281231.E99B92BB13@keescook>

On Mon, Jun 28, 2021 at 12:32 PM Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> wrote:
>
> The big addition for this merge window is the core support for Clang's
> Profile Guided Optimization, which lets Clang build the kernel for
> improved performance when running specific kernel workloads. This
> currently covers only vmlinux, but module support is under active
> development. (Sami Tolvanen, Bill Wendling, Kees Cook, Jarmo Tiitto,
> Lukas Bulwahn)

Am I misreading this?

The PGO data seems to be done by using clang instrumentation, instead
of done sanely using sample data from a regular "perf" run?

That odd decision seems to not be documented anywhere, and it seems
odd and counter-productive, and causes all that odd special buffer
handling and that vmlinux.profraw file etc.

And it causes the kernel to be bigger and run slower.

The actual link to the clang pgo documentation even says that there is
already support for converting regular "perf" profile output to pgo
data, yet that model isn't actually used even though it appears vastly
superior.

Why use an inferior compiler instructmentation profile when we have
the much better tools?

                  Linus

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-29  2:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-28 19:32 Kees Cook
2021-06-29  2:49 ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2021-06-29 20:44   ` Kees Cook
2021-06-29 21:03     ` Linus Torvalds
2021-06-29 21:27       ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-06-29 21:57         ` Linus Torvalds
2021-07-07  8:10         ` Ingo Molnar
2021-07-02 12:46       ` Bill Wendling
2021-07-02 12:56         ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-07-02 17:26           ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-07-02 18:57             ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-07-02 19:53               ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-06-29 13:14 ` Mark Rutland
2021-06-29 20:11   ` Kees Cook
2021-06-29 21:05   ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-10-05 13:10 ` ARCH_WANTS_NO_INSTR (Re: [GIT PULL] Clang feature updates for v5.14-rc1) Daniel Axtens
2021-10-05 13:45   ` Daniel Axtens
2021-10-05 14:30   ` Mark Rutland
2021-10-07  6:19     ` Jarmo Tiitto

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=whqCT0BeqBQhW8D-YoLLgp_eFY=8Y=9ieREM5xx0ef08w@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jarmo.tiitto@gmail.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=maskray@google.com \
    --cc=morbo@google.com \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=oberpar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=ojeda@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=wcw@google.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [GIT PULL] Clang feature updates for v5.14-rc1' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).