linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
To: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Cc: Daniel Scally <djrscally@gmail.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Maximilian Luz <luzmaximilian@gmail.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-i2c <linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org>,
	Platform Driver <platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:ACPI COMPONENT ARCHITECTURE (ACPICA)"
	<devel@acpica.org>, Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Wolfram Sang <wsa@kernel.org>,
	Mark Gross <mgross@linux.intel.com>,
	Robert Moore <robert.moore@intel.com>,
	Erik Kaneda <erik.kaneda@intel.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	kieran.bingham@ideasonboard.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 5/6] platform/x86: Add intel_skl_int3472 driver
Date: Wed, 16 Jun 2021 21:08:11 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHp75VccZbv8+u-jO8wYSsyQrw+Bd_zeDa==aiTvkh=fteuT3w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <ea322abe-fa78-bbc3-b4c5-b372a4f28235@redhat.com>

On Wed, Jun 16, 2021 at 8:58 PM Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com> wrote:
> On 6/4/21 12:40 AM, Daniel Scally wrote:
> > ACPI devices with _HID INT3472 are currently matched to the tps68470
> > driver, however this does not cover all situations in which that _HID
> > occurs. We've encountered three possibilities:
> >
> > 1. On Chrome OS devices, an ACPI device with _HID INT3472 (representing
> > a physical TPS68470 device) that requires a GPIO and OpRegion driver
> > 2. On devices designed for Windows, an ACPI device with _HID INT3472
> > (again representing a physical TPS68470 device) which requires GPIO,
> > Clock and Regulator drivers.
> > 3. On other devices designed for Windows, an ACPI device with _HID
> > INT3472 which does **not** represent a physical TPS68470, and is instead
> > used as a dummy device to group some system GPIO lines which are meant
> > to be consumed by the sensor that is dependent on this entry.
> >
> > This commit adds a new module, registering a platform driver to deal
> > with the 3rd scenario plus an i2c driver to deal with #1 and #2, by
> > querying the CLDB buffer found against INT3472 entries to determine
> > which is most appropriate.
> >
> > Suggested-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
> > Signed-off-by: Daniel Scally <djrscally@gmail.com>
>
> Thank you for your patch, I've applied this patch to my review-hans
> branch:
> https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/pdx86/platform-drivers-x86.git/log/?h=review-hans
>
> I've fixed up the missing static marking of skl_int3472_tps68470_calc_type()
> spotted by lkp@intel.com while applying the patch to my tree.

Are you going to apply patch 6 as well?
IIRC it's acked by Lee.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-16 18:08 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-03 22:40 [PATCH v5 0/6] Introduce intel_skl_int3472 module Daniel Scally
2021-06-03 22:40 ` [PATCH v5 1/6] ACPI: scan: Extend acpi_walk_dep_device_list() Daniel Scally
2021-06-03 22:40 ` [PATCH v5 2/6] ACPI: scan: Add function to fetch dependent of acpi device Daniel Scally
2021-06-07 14:52   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-06-03 22:40 ` [PATCH v5 3/6] gpiolib: acpi: Export acpi_get_gpiod() Daniel Scally
2021-06-04 12:59   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-06-04 14:09     ` Daniel Scally
2021-06-03 22:40 ` [PATCH v5 4/6] gpiolib: acpi: Add acpi_gpio_get_io_resource() Daniel Scally
2021-06-04 13:01   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-06-04 14:09     ` Daniel Scally
2021-06-04 14:33       ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-06-04 16:54         ` Daniel Scally
2021-06-03 22:40 ` [PATCH v5 5/6] platform/x86: Add intel_skl_int3472 driver Daniel Scally
2021-06-04  1:31   ` kernel test robot
2021-06-05 23:07     ` Daniel Scally
2021-06-04  6:49   ` kernel test robot
2021-06-16 17:58   ` Hans de Goede
2021-06-16 18:08     ` Andy Shevchenko [this message]
2021-06-16 18:13       ` Hans de Goede
2021-06-16 21:42     ` Daniel Scally
2021-06-03 22:40 ` [PATCH v5 6/6] mfd: tps68470: Remove tps68470 MFD driver Daniel Scally
2021-06-17 11:14   ` Hans de Goede
2021-06-08  9:00 ` [PATCH v5 0/6] Introduce intel_skl_int3472 module Hans de Goede
2021-06-08  9:33   ` Laurent Pinchart

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHp75VccZbv8+u-jO8wYSsyQrw+Bd_zeDa==aiTvkh=fteuT3w@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=devel@acpica.org \
    --cc=djrscally@gmail.com \
    --cc=erik.kaneda@intel.com \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=kieran.bingham@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luzmaximilian@gmail.com \
    --cc=mgross@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=robert.moore@intel.com \
    --cc=wsa@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).