linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	"Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>,
	"Cc: Android Kernel" <kernel-team@android.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] compiler.h: Raise minimum version of GCC to 5.1 for arm64
Date: Thu, 14 Jan 2021 02:57:17 +0900	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK7LNASs6dvU6D3jL2GG3jW58fXfaj6VNOe55NJnTB8UPuk2pA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <161055398865.21762.12236232732054213928.b4-ty@arm.com>

On Thu, Jan 14, 2021 at 1:08 AM Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> wrote:
>
> On Tue, 12 Jan 2021 22:48:32 +0000, Will Deacon wrote:
> > GCC versions >= 4.9 and < 5.1 have been shown to emit memory references
> > beyond the stack pointer, resulting in memory corruption if an interrupt
> > is taken after the stack pointer has been adjusted but before the
> > reference has been executed. This leads to subtle, infrequent data
> > corruption such as the EXT4 problems reported by Russell King at the
> > link below.
> >
> > [...]
>
> Applied to arm64 (for-next/fixes), thanks!
>
> [1/1] compiler.h: Raise minimum version of GCC to 5.1 for arm64
>       https://git.kernel.org/arm64/c/1f1244a5ddb7
>
> --
> Catalin
>


Maybe, we can raise the minimal version to gcc 5.1
for all architectures.


-- 
Best Regards
Masahiro Yamada

  reply	other threads:[~2021-01-13 17:59 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-12 22:48 Will Deacon
2021-01-12 22:57 ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-01-12 23:06 ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-01-13  2:14 ` Linus Torvalds
2021-01-13  2:35   ` Linus Torvalds
2021-01-13 15:02     ` Catalin Marinas
2021-01-13 16:07 ` Catalin Marinas
2021-01-13 17:57   ` Masahiro Yamada [this message]
2021-01-13 18:33     ` Joe Perches
2021-01-13 19:15     ` Linus Torvalds
2021-01-13 21:44       ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2021-01-13 22:08         ` Linus Torvalds
2021-01-14  8:18           ` Ard Biesheuvel
2021-01-14 18:43             ` Linus Torvalds
2021-01-14 19:51               ` Joe Perches
2021-01-14 21:18                 ` Linus Torvalds
2021-01-15  0:30                   ` Joe Perches
2021-01-15 23:24                     ` Linus Torvalds
2021-02-27  7:16               ` Masahiro Yamada

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK7LNASs6dvU6D3jL2GG3jW58fXfaj6VNOe55NJnTB8UPuk2pA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=tytso@mit.edu \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] compiler.h: Raise minimum version of GCC to 5.1 for arm64' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).