linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
To: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Fangrui Song <maskray@google.com>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] arm64: drop CROSS_COMPILE for LLVM=1 LLVM_IAS=1
Date: Fri, 2 Jul 2021 13:59:28 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a1EfBNxaMbsp+s2BiYHGKPK4NeRR+ugM82jfY43Pq7-Uw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210701235505.1792711-1-ndesaulniers@google.com>

On Fri, Jul 2, 2021 at 1:55 AM 'Nick Desaulniers' via Clang Built
Linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com> wrote:
>
> +ifneq ($(LLVM),)
> +ifneq ($(LLVM_IAS),)
> +ifeq ($(CROSS_COMPILE),)
> +CLANG_TARGET   :=--target=aarch64-linux
> +CLANG_FLAGS    += $(CLANG_TARGET)
> +KBUILD_CFLAGS  += $(CLANG_TARGET)
> +KBUILD_AFLAGS  += $(CLANG_TARGET)
> +endif
> +endif
> +endif

I think only the "CLANG_TARGET   :=--target=aarch64-linux" line should
go into the
per-architecture Makefile. It doesn't hurt to just set that
unconditionally here,
and then change the CLANG_FLAGS logic in the top-level Makefile to use this
in place of $(notdir $(CROSS_COMPILE:%-=%)).

       Arnd

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-02 11:59 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-01 23:55 [PATCH] arm64: drop CROSS_COMPILE for LLVM=1 LLVM_IAS=1 Nick Desaulniers
2021-07-02  1:05 ` Tom Stellard
2021-07-02 17:37   ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-07-02 11:22 ` Will Deacon
2021-07-02 17:50   ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-07-02 11:59 ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2021-07-02 18:29   ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-07-04  0:47     ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-07-07 19:04       ` Nick Desaulniers
2021-07-07 19:08         ` Nathan Chancellor
2021-07-07 22:44           ` Nick Desaulniers

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a1EfBNxaMbsp+s2BiYHGKPK4NeRR+ugM82jfY43Pq7-Uw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=maskray@google.com \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).