linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: Clay McClure <clay@daemons.net>
Cc: Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	kbuild test robot <lkp@intel.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Wingman Kwok <w-kwok2@ti.com>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	Dinh Nguyen <dinguyen@kernel.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>,
	Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>,
	Ivan Khoronzhuk <ivan.khoronzhuk@linaro.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Pankaj Bharadiya <pankaj.laxminarayan.bharadiya@intel.com>,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-omap <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>,
	Networking <netdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] net: ethernet: ti: Remove TI_CPTS_MOD workaround
Date: Mon, 4 May 2020 17:16:02 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a1m-zmiTx0_KJb-9PTW0iK+Zkh10gKsaBzge0OJALBFmQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200502233910.20851-1-clay@daemons.net>

On Sun, May 3, 2020 at 1:41 AM Clay McClure <clay@daemons.net> wrote:

> To preserve the existing behavior of defconfigs that select TI_CPTS, we
> must also select PTP_1588_CLOCK so that the dependency is satisfied.
> omap2plus_defconfig and keystone_defconfig have not been updated in a
> while, so some unrelated no-op changes appear in the diff.

Please don't do that at all. If you need to add a line to the defconfig file,
add just that line, to avoid merge conflicts and dropping unrelated lines
that have not been caught but need to be preserved in some way
(by enabling another dependency, or renaming the option).

      Arnd

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-05-04 15:16 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-02 23:39 Clay McClure
2020-05-04 15:09 ` Tony Lindgren
2020-05-04 15:16 ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2020-05-04 16:57   ` [PATCH v2] " Clay McClure
2020-05-05  7:41     ` Grygorii Strashko
2020-05-06  6:51       ` Clay McClure
2020-05-06 20:56         ` Grygorii Strashko
2020-05-07 21:37           ` Arnd Bergmann

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a1m-zmiTx0_KJb-9PTW0iK+Zkh10gKsaBzge0OJALBFmQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=brouer@redhat.com \
    --cc=clay@daemons.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dinguyen@kernel.org \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org \
    --cc=ivan.khoronzhuk@linaro.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lkp@intel.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=pankaj.laxminarayan.bharadiya@intel.com \
    --cc=richardcochran@gmail.com \
    --cc=tony@atomide.com \
    --cc=w-kwok2@ti.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] net: ethernet: ti: Remove TI_CPTS_MOD workaround' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).