linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: thor.thayer@linux.intel.com
Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Dinh Nguyen <dinguyen@kernel.org>,
	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com>,
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Networking <netdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RESEND 1/4] mfd: altera-sysmgr: Add SOCFPGA System Manager abstraction
Date: Tue, 18 Dec 2018 16:24:44 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a2=v=Kn5ECTFT-HkqhdtEkgG5sJ=jGpEa-FVFzP5M3Sgw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <183b18b9-55f4-55d0-b1f6-674a6df49d1b@linux.intel.com>

On Tue, Dec 18, 2018 at 12:21 AM Thor Thayer
<thor.thayer@linux.intel.com> wrote:
>
> Hi Arnd,
>
> On 12/14/18 6:36 AM, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> > On Tue, Nov 13, 2018 at 5:03 PM <thor.thayer@linux.intel.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> From: Thor Thayer <thor.thayer@linux.intel.com>

> >> +static int socfpga_is_s10(void)
> >> +{
> >> +       return of_machine_is_compatible("altr,socfpga-stratix10");
> >> +}
> >
> > I don't really like the way you are checking for a specific here
> > here though, that is something that should only be done in
> > an absolute emergency when there is no way of fixing the
> > device tree files.
> >
> > Since this is a new driver for a device that is not used in
> > mainline kernels yet (AFAICT), let's fix the binding and add
> > a proper detection method here.
> >
> Thank you. I'm not completely clear on this. Are you saying this
> function should test for a new compatible that is assigned to Stratix10
> in the binding ("altr,sys-mgr-s10") instead of the machine name?

Yes, exactly.

      Arnd

  reply	other threads:[~2018-12-18 15:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-11-13 16:06 [RESEND 0/4] Add SOCFPGA System Manager thor.thayer
2018-11-13 16:06 ` [RESEND 1/4] mfd: altera-sysmgr: Add SOCFPGA System Manager abstraction thor.thayer
2018-12-14 12:36   ` Arnd Bergmann
2018-12-17 23:23     ` Thor Thayer
2018-12-18 15:24       ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2018-11-13 16:06 ` [RESEND 2/4] ARM: socfpga_defconfig: Enable CONFIG_MTD_ALTERA_SYSMGR thor.thayer
2018-11-13 16:06 ` [RESEND 3/4] arm64: defconfig: " thor.thayer
2018-11-13 16:06 ` [RESEND 4/4] net: stmmac: socfpga: Convert to shared System Manager driver thor.thayer

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAK8P3a2=v=Kn5ECTFT-HkqhdtEkgG5sJ=jGpEa-FVFzP5M3Sgw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@st.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dinguyen@kernel.org \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mchehab+samsung@kernel.org \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=olof@lixom.net \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=thor.thayer@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [RESEND 1/4] mfd: altera-sysmgr: Add SOCFPGA System Manager abstraction' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).