linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Cc: Jonathan Cameron <jic23@kernel.org>,
	Sean Nyekjaer <sean@geanix.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Stephan Gerhold <stephan@gerhold.net>,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Tomas Melin <tomas.melin@vaisala.com>,
	Mike Looijmans <mike.looijmans@topic.nl>,
	Alexandru Ardelean <aardelean@deviqon.com>,
	linux-iio@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] iio: accel: fxls8962af: fix i2c dependency
Date: Wed, 21 Jul 2021 20:40:30 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a3SMGHvj2cywrPVQchJTmhvwq9ERsPDmV0E0K6zC0St5w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHp75VfQLGX4ir8XxMZBMkPaK2SoazJwr3axsk-5p1ok6uf6jg@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 7:34 PM Andy Shevchenko
<andy.shevchenko@gmail.com> wrote:
> On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 7:12 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org> wrote:
> > On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 5:52 PM Andy Shevchenko
> > <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com> wrote:
> > > On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 6:13 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> ...
>
> > > >  config FXLS8962AF
> > > >         tristate
> > > > +       depends on I2C || !I2C # cannot be built-in for modular I2C
> > >
> > > Can you enlighten me how this will not be a no-op?
> >
> > This part does nothing, it only causes a warning when FXLS8962AF
> > gets selected =y when I2C=m.
>
> This is something new to me. But shouldn't the other chunk guarantee
> that warning won't happen?

Correct, it works without that, but if that fails after something changes,
this version would provide better diagnostics than the FXLS8962AF
core driver causing a link failure, and I found it documents better
why the other driver needs the dependency.

Let me know if you prefer me to resend the patch without this hunk.

      Arnd

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-21 18:40 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-21 15:13 Arnd Bergmann
2021-07-21 15:50 ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-21 16:12   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-07-21 17:33     ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-21 18:40       ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2021-07-24 15:16         ` Jonathan Cameron
2021-07-24 17:00           ` Arnd Bergmann

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a3SMGHvj2cywrPVQchJTmhvwq9ERsPDmV0E0K6zC0St5w@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=aardelean@deviqon.com \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=jic23@kernel.org \
    --cc=lars@metafoo.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-iio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.looijmans@topic.nl \
    --cc=sean@geanix.com \
    --cc=stephan@gerhold.net \
    --cc=tomas.melin@vaisala.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] iio: accel: fxls8962af: fix i2c dependency' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).