linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
To: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	David Drysdale <drysdale@google.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Linux Containers <containers@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Linux FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Chanho Min <chanho.min@lge.com>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RESEND v5 0/5] namei: vfs flags to restrict path resolution
Date: Thu, 21 Mar 2019 10:06:38 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CALCETrV-Q4qZXGeavBPQbF6-VVz7hqvjRkbhFeYmbGiQgu5Omg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190320143717.2523-1-cyphar@cyphar.com>

On Wed, Mar 20, 2019 at 7:38 AM Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com> wrote:
>
> Now that the holiday break is over, it's time to re-send this patch
> series (with a few additions, due to new information we got from
> CVE-2019-5736 -- which this patchset mostly protected against but had
> some holes with regards to #!-style scripts).

I generally like this, but, as Linus pointed out, it will be
unfortunate if application authors see this as just another
non-portable weird Linux API and don't use it.  Would it be worthwhile
to put some thought into making it an API that other OSes might be
willing to implement?  As it stands, the openat(2) flags are getting
rather crazy in this patch set.

Aleksa had a resolveat(2) proposal that really didn't seem too bad.

  parent reply	other threads:[~2019-03-21 17:06 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-03-20 14:37 Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-20 14:37 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 1/5] namei: split out nd->dfd handling to dirfd_path_init Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-20 14:37 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 2/5] namei: O_BENEATH-style path resolution flags Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-20 14:37 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 3/5] namei: O_THISROOT: chroot-like path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-20 14:37 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 4/5] namei: aggressively check for nd->root escape on ".." resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-20 14:37 ` [PATCH RESEND v5 5/5] binfmt_*: scope path resolution of interpreters Aleksa Sarai
2019-03-21 17:06 ` Andy Lutomirski [this message]
2019-03-25 13:04   ` [PATCH RESEND v5 0/5] namei: vfs flags to restrict path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-04-23 20:13     ` Kees Cook
2019-04-23 20:24       ` Christian Brauner
2019-04-24 15:38       ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-04-25 13:22         ` Adam Borowski
2019-04-25 19:45         ` Aleksa Sarai
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2019-03-06 19:12 Aleksa Sarai

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CALCETrV-Q4qZXGeavBPQbF6-VVz7hqvjRkbhFeYmbGiQgu5Omg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=asarai@suse.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=chanho.min@lge.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=drysdale@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH RESEND v5 0/5] namei: vfs flags to restrict path resolution' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).