linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
To: Daniel Baluta <daniel.baluta@gmail.com>
Cc: "Daniel Baluta" <daniel.baluta@oss.nxp.com>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Pierre-Louis Bossart" <pierre-louis.bossart@linux.intel.com>,
	"Liam Girdwood" <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	"Ranjani Sridharan" <ranjani.sridharan@linux.intel.com>,
	"Kai Vehmanen" <kai.vehmanen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Devicetree List" <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Pengutronix Kernel Team" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	dl-linux-imx <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Péter Ujfalusi" <peter.ujfalusi@linux.intel.com>,
	Linux-ALSA <alsa-devel@alsa-project.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Suman Anna" <s-anna@ti.com>,
	"Daniel Baluta" <daniel.baluta@nxp.com>,
	"Shengjiu Wang" <shengjiu.wang@nxp.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] dt-bindings: dsp: fsl: Add DSP optional clocks documentation
Date: Thu, 9 Sep 2021 12:15:45 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAL_JsqJd2AvBxRjHj=VZV2DH26tSNSX=5eEpc-HoFrc=dLxEFQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAEnQRZBmruc8GNfJTm99=0K7PyGrEiB1CxY3c2RSZhLFLR-nhQ@mail.gmail.com>

On Thu, Sep 9, 2021 at 6:21 AM Daniel Baluta <daniel.baluta@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> > > The H/W block is controlled by the DSP firmware. So, we don't want
> > > to use the Linux kernel driver (thus the H/W block device tree node).
> >
> > 'status' is how you disable a device to not be used by the OS.
> >
> > The information about that device's resources are already in DT, we
> > don't need to duplicate that here. If you want a list of devices
> > assigned to the DSP here, that would be okay.
>
> Thanks! This is a very good idea. I was thinking at a totally different thing.
>
> So having something like this:
>
> dsp {
>
>
> hw-block-list = <&sai1>, <&sai2>;
>
> }

Yes.

> And then inside the DSP driver we can get access to sai1 clocks. Do
> you know of any standard property name?

There isn't. So it needs a vendor prefix.

There's been some discussions around 'system devicetree' where all
processors (like the DSP) view of the system get represented. Device
assignment is one of the issues to solve with that, but it's not
anywhere close to having something to help here.

Rob

      reply	other threads:[~2021-09-09 17:16 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-03 14:53 [PATCH v2 0/2] Add code to manage DSP related clocks Daniel Baluta
2021-09-03 14:53 ` [PATCH v2 1/2] ASoC: SOF: imx: " Daniel Baluta
2021-09-03 16:06   ` Pierre-Louis Bossart
2021-09-03 14:53 ` [PATCH v2 2/2] dt-bindings: dsp: fsl: Add DSP optional clocks documentation Daniel Baluta
2021-09-03 16:53   ` Rob Herring
2021-09-04 14:50     ` Daniel Baluta
2021-09-07 13:09       ` Rob Herring
2021-09-09 11:20         ` Daniel Baluta
2021-09-09 17:15           ` Rob Herring [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAL_JsqJd2AvBxRjHj=VZV2DH26tSNSX=5eEpc-HoFrc=dLxEFQ@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=daniel.baluta@gmail.com \
    --cc=daniel.baluta@nxp.com \
    --cc=daniel.baluta@oss.nxp.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=kai.vehmanen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=peter.ujfalusi@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=pierre-louis.bossart@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=ranjani.sridharan@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=s-anna@ti.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=shengjiu.wang@nxp.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] dt-bindings: dsp: fsl: Add DSP optional clocks documentation' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).