linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl>
To: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>,
	Sean Wang <sean.wang@mediatek.com>,
	Mark Lee <Mark-MC.Lee@mediatek.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"moderated list:ARM/Mediatek SoC..." 
	<linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Fabien Parent <fparent@baylibre.com>,
	Stephane Le Provost <stephane.leprovost@mediatek.com>,
	Pedro Tsai <pedro.tsai@mediatek.com>,
	Andrew Perepech <andrew.perepech@mediatek.com>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] net: ethernet: mtk-star-emac: simplify interrupt handling
Date: Thu, 11 Jun 2020 23:04:07 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMRc=MdcW-FQecZViyAEevpJrkREGTc4Xr8zPTAW_QvqGm7P1w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200611.125140.717118972991857444.davem@davemloft.net>

czw., 11 cze 2020 o 21:51 David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> napisał(a):
>
> From: Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl>
> Date: Thu, 11 Jun 2020 16:01:39 +0200
>
> > Unfortunately after thorough testing of current mainline, we noticed the
> > driver has become unstable under heavy load. While this is hard to
> > reproduce, it's quite consistent in the driver's current form.
>
> Maybe you should work to pinpoint the actual problem before pushing forward
> a solution?

Why would you assume I didn't? I've been trying to figure out this
problem since Monday but since I'm not sure how much time I will be
able to spend on this going forward and due to the fact that this is
now upstream (and broken), I sent this patch. As I said: it doesn't
impact performance nor is this solution inherently wrong - many
drivers do it this way.

I will continue working on this driver on and off so I *do* intend on
fixing it as well as extending it with more support, hence the FIXME
and previous TODO.

Best regards,
Bartosz

  reply	other threads:[~2020-06-11 21:04 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-11 14:01 Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-06-11 19:51 ` David Miller
2020-06-11 21:04   ` Bartosz Golaszewski [this message]
2020-06-15 20:31 ` David Miller

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAMRc=MdcW-FQecZViyAEevpJrkREGTc4Xr8zPTAW_QvqGm7P1w@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=brgl@bgdev.pl \
    --cc=Mark-MC.Lee@mediatek.com \
    --cc=andrew.perepech@mediatek.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=fparent@baylibre.com \
    --cc=john@phrozen.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=pedro.tsai@mediatek.com \
    --cc=sean.wang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=stephane.leprovost@mediatek.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] net: ethernet: mtk-star-emac: simplify interrupt handling' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).