linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>
To: Adam Ford <aford173@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-spi <linux-spi@vger.kernel.org>, Han Xu <han.xu@nxp.com>,
	Yogesh Gaur <yogeshgaur.83@gmail.com>,
	Ashish Kumar <ashish.kumar@nxp.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V2 2/5] spi: fspi: dynamically alloc AHB memory
Date: Sun, 2 Feb 2020 13:39:41 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAOMZO5D3emrAk84wDS04qJC-3AyvFnqodhoMsXO-ukHnYsU+PQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200202125950.1825013-2-aford173@gmail.com>

On Sun, Feb 2, 2020 at 10:00 AM Adam Ford <aford173@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> From: Han Xu <han.xu@nxp.com>
>
> Apply patch from NXP upstream repo to
> dynamically allocate AHB memory as needed.

The commit log could be improved here. What is the motivation for doing this?

> +               if (!f->ahb_addr) {
> +                       dev_err(f->dev, "failed to alloc memory\n");

There is no need for this error message as the MM core will take care of it.

  reply	other threads:[~2020-02-02 16:39 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-02 12:59 [PATCH V2 1/5] spi: fspi: enable fspi on imx8qxp and imx8mm Adam Ford
2020-02-02 12:59 ` [PATCH V2 2/5] spi: fspi: dynamically alloc AHB memory Adam Ford
2020-02-02 16:39   ` Fabio Estevam [this message]
2020-02-03 10:53     ` Adam Ford
2020-02-12 12:07       ` Mark Brown
2020-02-12 13:08         ` Adam Ford
2020-02-13 18:46           ` Mark Brown
2020-02-15 16:14             ` [EXT] " Han Xu
2020-02-02 12:59 ` [PATCH V2 3/5] spi: spi-nxp-fspi: Enable the Octal Mode in MCR0 Adam Ford
2020-02-12 12:04   ` Mark Brown
2020-02-02 12:59 ` [PATCH V2 4/5] dt-bindings: spi: spi-nxp-fspi: Add support for imx8mm, imx8qxp Adam Ford
2020-02-06 18:40   ` Rob Herring
2020-02-11 10:49     ` Adam Ford
2020-02-11 18:05       ` Rob Herring
2020-02-02 12:59 ` [PATCH V2 5/5] arm64: dts: enable fspi in imx8mm dts Adam Ford
2020-02-14  3:36   ` Shawn Guo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAOMZO5D3emrAk84wDS04qJC-3AyvFnqodhoMsXO-ukHnYsU+PQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=aford173@gmail.com \
    --cc=ashish.kumar@nxp.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=han.xu@nxp.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-spi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=yogeshgaur.83@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).