linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
To: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: lkml <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>, Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>,
	Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>, Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Maulik Shah <mkshah@codeaurora.org>,
	Lina Iyer <ilina@codeaurora.org>,
	Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] firmware: QCOM_SCM: Allow qcom_scm driver to be loadable as a permenent module
Date: Fri, 21 May 2021 22:06:02 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YKgSqtQyYFR1BRNM@kroah.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210518211922.3474368-2-john.stultz@linaro.org>

On Tue, May 18, 2021 at 09:19:22PM +0000, John Stultz wrote:
> Allow the qcom_scm driver to be loadable as a permenent module.
> 
> This still uses the "depends on QCOM_SCM || !QCOM_SCM" bit to
> ensure that drivers that call into the qcom_scm driver are
> also built as modules. While not ideal in some cases its the
> only safe way I can find to avoid build errors without having
> those drivers select QCOM_SCM and have to force it on (as
> QCOM_SCM=n can be valid for those drivers).
> 
> Reviving this now that Saravana's fw_devlink defaults to on,
> which should avoid loading troubles seen before.
> 
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>
> Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>
> Cc: Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>
> Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
> Cc: Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>
> Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Maulik Shah <mkshah@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Lina Iyer <ilina@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>
> Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
> Cc: linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org
> Acked-by: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>
> Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Reviewed-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

  reply	other threads:[~2021-05-21 20:06 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-18 21:19 [PATCH 1/2] irqchip/qcom-pdc: Switch to IRQCHIP_PLATFORM_DRIVER and allow as a module John Stultz
2021-05-18 21:19 ` [PATCH 2/2] firmware: QCOM_SCM: Allow qcom_scm driver to be loadable as a permenent module John Stultz
2021-05-21 20:06   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman [this message]
2021-06-08 12:11   ` Will Deacon
2021-05-21 20:05 ` [PATCH 1/2] irqchip/qcom-pdc: Switch to IRQCHIP_PLATFORM_DRIVER and allow as a module Greg Kroah-Hartman
2021-06-06 13:07 ` [irqchip: irq/irqchip-next] " irqchip-bot for Saravana Kannan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YKgSqtQyYFR1BRNM@kroah.com \
    --to=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=ilina@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jason@lakedaemon.net \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mkshah@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tkjos@google.com \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/2] firmware: QCOM_SCM: Allow qcom_scm driver to be loadable as a permenent module' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).