linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
To: Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	lkml <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>, Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>, Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Maulik Shah <mkshah@codeaurora.org>, Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	"list@263.net:IOMMU DRIVERS <iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,"
	<iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] firmware: QCOM_SCM: Allow qcom_scm driver to be loadable as a permenent module
Date: Fri, 23 Jul 2021 09:24:14 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YPrRDrmlmF4ws4DQ@yoga> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAGETcx8Yw2QDYBYNpqVt_kPHnokFR+qinr5GAJ1byVWMuc3PLQ@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed 21 Jul 16:07 CDT 2021, Saravana Kannan wrote:

> On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 1:23 PM Bjorn Andersson
> <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Wed 21 Jul 13:00 CDT 2021, Saravana Kannan wrote:
> >
> > > On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 10:24 AM John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> wrote:
> > > >
> > > > On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 4:54 AM Greg Kroah-Hartman
> > > > <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > On Wed, Jul 07, 2021 at 04:53:20AM +0000, John Stultz wrote:
> > > > > > Allow the qcom_scm driver to be loadable as a permenent module.
> > > > >
> > > > > This feels like a regression, it should be allowed to be a module.
> > > >
> > > > I'm sorry, I'm not sure I'm following you, Greg.  This patch is trying
> > > > to enable the driver to be able to be loaded as a module.
> > >
> > > I think the mix up might be that Greg mentally read "permanent module"
> > > as "builtin"?
> > >
> > > "permanent module" is just something that can't be unloaded once it's
> > > loaded. It's not "builtin".
> > >
> >
> > Afaict there's nothing in this patch that makes it more or less
> > permanent.
> 
> The lack of a module_exit() makes it a permanent module. If you do
> lsmod, it'll mark this as "[permanent]".
> 

Cool, I didn't know that.

Thanks,
Bjorn

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-23 14:24 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-07  4:53 John Stultz
2021-07-17  5:01 ` Bjorn Andersson
2021-07-19 19:00   ` John Stultz
2021-07-19 19:36     ` Bjorn Andersson
2021-07-19 21:53       ` Saravana Kannan
2021-07-21 20:13         ` Bjorn Andersson
2021-07-21 11:54 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2021-07-21 17:24   ` John Stultz
2021-07-21 18:00     ` Saravana Kannan
2021-07-21 20:23       ` Bjorn Andersson
2021-07-21 21:07         ` Saravana Kannan
2021-07-23 14:24           ` Bjorn Andersson [this message]
2021-07-23 12:21     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YPrRDrmlmF4ws4DQ@yoga \
    --to=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mkshah@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tkjos@google.com \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] firmware: QCOM_SCM: Allow qcom_scm driver to be loadable as a permenent module' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).