linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
To: Josh Don <joshdon@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>, Oleg Rombakh <olegrom@google.com>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Steve Sistare <steven.sistare@oracle.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] sched: adjust SCHED_IDLE interactions
Date: Mon, 16 Aug 2021 14:31:09 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YRpajXKCPiPEHFAV@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210730020019.1487127-3-joshdon@google.com>

On Thu, Jul 29, 2021 at 07:00:19PM -0700, Josh Don wrote:
> 1) Ignore min_granularity for determining the sched_slide of a
> SCHED_IDLE entity when it is competing with a non SCHED_IDLE entity.
> This reduces the latency of getting a non SCHED_IDLE entity back on cpu,
> at the expense of increased context switch frequency of SCHED_IDLE
> entities.

> 2) Don't give sleeper credit to SCHED_IDLE entities when they wake onto
> a cfs_rq with non SCHED_IDLE entities. As a result, newly woken
> SCHED_IDLE entities will take longer to preempt non SCHED_IDLE entities.

ISTR we had a rule about one change per patch :-)

      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-16 12:32 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-30  2:00 [PATCH v2 0/2] SCHED_IDLE extensions Josh Don
2021-07-30  2:00 ` [PATCH v2 1/2] sched: cgroup SCHED_IDLE support Josh Don
2021-08-03  2:14   ` jun qian
2021-08-03 20:37     ` Josh Don
2021-08-05 10:18   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-05 17:13     ` Tejun Heo
2021-08-05 23:54       ` Josh Don
2021-08-11 13:48   ` Vincent Guittot
2021-08-23  9:26   ` [tip: sched/core] sched: Cgroup " tip-bot2 for Josh Don
2021-07-30  2:00 ` [PATCH 2/2] sched: adjust SCHED_IDLE interactions Josh Don
2021-08-11 13:31   ` Vincent Guittot
2021-08-12 21:09     ` Josh Don
2021-08-13 12:43       ` Vincent Guittot
2021-08-13 23:55         ` Josh Don
2021-08-16 12:31       ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-17 23:48         ` Josh Don
2021-08-16 12:52     ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-16 12:56       ` Vincent Guittot
2021-08-17 23:40       ` Josh Don
2021-08-16 12:31   ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YRpajXKCPiPEHFAV@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net \
    --to=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=joshdon@google.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=olegrom@google.com \
    --cc=pjt@google.com \
    --cc=riel@surriel.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=steven.sistare@oracle.com \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/2] sched: adjust SCHED_IDLE interactions' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).