linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
To: Sergey Senozhatsky <senozhatsky@chromium.org>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Paul Menzel <pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de>,
	Wang Yating <yating.wang@intel.com>,
	Christoph Jechlitschek <christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com>,
	Hao Yao <hao.yao@intel.com>, Andy Yeh <andy.yeh@intel.com>,
	Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>,
	Bingbu Cao <bingbu.cao@intel.com>,
	Tianshu Qiu <tian.shu.qiu@intel.com>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	Mark Pearson <markpearson@lenovo.com>,
	Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Guenter Roeck <groeck@google.com>,
	Andy Whitcroft <apw@canonical.com>,
	Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>,
	Christian Schaller <cschalle@redhat.com>,
	Wouter Bolsterlee <wouter@bolsterl.ee>,
	Miguel Palhas <mpalhas@gmail.com>,
	it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de
Subject: Re: Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops
Date: Mon, 15 Aug 2022 10:15:49 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YvnypQSy2NadLfo/@pendragon.ideasonboard.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YvnwtN1SwQjilJ97@google.com>

On Mon, Aug 15, 2022 at 04:07:32PM +0900, Sergey Senozhatsky wrote:
> On (22/08/15 09:02), Greg KH wrote:
> [..]
> > > We haven't sent out KCAM for upstream review yet. It's open sourced,
> > > as of this moment [1], but we still need some time and wanted to convert
> > > one of the previous generations of IPU drivers (IPU3) to KCAM first to
> > > see if everything is working as we wanted it to.
> > 
> > That didn't answer my question on when you were planning to actually
> > submit this :)
> 
> Definitely not today. Someday, for sure :)
> 
> I don't want to promise any timelines. But we are certainly not
> talking "weeks", we are talking "months". Several months is a
> realistic timeline.

If I were to bet, I'd say no less than a year :-) And even then, as
stated separately, you'll have to convince the upstream community that
the API is suitable. It would be best to work with upstream today on a
proposal that please all parties, and not wait a year for a full
implementation to be ready, submitted, and rejected.

-- 
Regards,

Laurent Pinchart

  parent reply	other threads:[~2022-08-15  7:18 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-08-11  8:23 Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops Paul Menzel
2022-08-11 13:54 ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:02   ` Greg KH
2022-08-11 15:08     ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:30       ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  2:06         ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  5:22           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  6:36           ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  6:43             ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:02               ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:07                 ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:14                   ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:24                     ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:40                       ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15 15:14                         ` [External] " Mark Pearson
2022-08-17  9:35                           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  7:59                       ` Greg KH
2022-08-17  8:09                     ` Sakari Ailus
2022-08-17  8:14                       ` Greg KH
2022-08-17  9:49                       ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:15                   ` Laurent Pinchart [this message]
2022-08-15  9:47               ` Sakari Ailus
2022-09-22 13:06     ` Sakari Ailus

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YvnypQSy2NadLfo/@pendragon.ideasonboard.com \
    --to=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com \
    --cc=andy.yeh@intel.com \
    --cc=apw@canonical.com \
    --cc=bingbu.cao@intel.com \
    --cc=christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com \
    --cc=cschalle@redhat.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=groeck@google.com \
    --cc=hao.yao@intel.com \
    --cc=it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=kai.heng.feng@canonical.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=markpearson@lenovo.com \
    --cc=mpalhas@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=senozhatsky@chromium.org \
    --cc=tian.shu.qiu@intel.com \
    --cc=wouter@bolsterl.ee \
    --cc=yating.wang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).