linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>
To: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Paul Menzel <pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de>,
	Wang Yating <yating.wang@intel.com>,
	Christoph Jechlitschek <christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com>,
	Hao Yao <hao.yao@intel.com>, Andy Yeh <andy.yeh@intel.com>,
	Bingbu Cao <bingbu.cao@intel.com>,
	Tianshu Qiu <tian.shu.qiu@intel.com>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	Mark Pearson <markpearson@lenovo.com>,
	Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Guenter Roeck <groeck@google.com>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <senozhatsky@chromium.org>,
	Andy Whitcroft <apw@canonical.com>,
	Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>,
	Christian Schaller <cschalle@redhat.com>,
	Wouter Bolsterlee <wouter@bolsterl.ee>,
	Miguel Palhas <mpalhas@gmail.com>,
	it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de
Subject: Re: Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops
Date: Thu, 22 Sep 2022 13:06:24 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <Yyxd0BJw5syjVsvm@paasikivi.fi.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YvUaEDMbZD70x+hD@kroah.com>

Hi Greg, others,

On Thu, Aug 11, 2022 at 05:02:40PM +0200, Greg KH wrote:
> On Thu, Aug 11, 2022 at 04:54:53PM +0300, Laurent Pinchart wrote:
> > For the time being, I agree with your recommendation to not buy these
> > devices if you care about camera support.
> 
> I second this, don't buy these devices if the vendor is not willing to
> get their drivers upstreamed properly.

I can now confirm that IPU6 driver upstreaming is now planned, with IPU6
input system driver to be upstreamed first. The intent is that we would
have patches for review on LMML around the end of the year.

The processing system driver will need more work to replace the custom
interface. For a fully functional camera stack, also libcamera support for
IPU6 will be needed.

I think I can say a major factor for why we're here is that the original
intent was to use a different interface for upstream but as we don't have
one yet and probably won't for quite some time, this doesn't really seem
like a viable option anymore.

So I'm afraid I can't promise a quick fix but at the same time I can say
work is being done to address this.

-- 
Kind regards,

Sakari Ailus

      parent reply	other threads:[~2022-09-22 13:07 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-08-11  8:23 Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops Paul Menzel
2022-08-11 13:54 ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:02   ` Greg KH
2022-08-11 15:08     ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:30       ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  2:06         ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  5:22           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  6:36           ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  6:43             ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:02               ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:07                 ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:14                   ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:24                     ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:40                       ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15 15:14                         ` [External] " Mark Pearson
2022-08-17  9:35                           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  7:59                       ` Greg KH
2022-08-17  8:09                     ` Sakari Ailus
2022-08-17  8:14                       ` Greg KH
2022-08-17  9:49                       ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:15                   ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  9:47               ` Sakari Ailus
2022-09-22 13:06     ` Sakari Ailus [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=Yyxd0BJw5syjVsvm@paasikivi.fi.intel.com \
    --to=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com \
    --cc=andy.yeh@intel.com \
    --cc=apw@canonical.com \
    --cc=bingbu.cao@intel.com \
    --cc=christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com \
    --cc=cschalle@redhat.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=groeck@google.com \
    --cc=hao.yao@intel.com \
    --cc=it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=kai.heng.feng@canonical.com \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=markpearson@lenovo.com \
    --cc=mpalhas@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=senozhatsky@chromium.org \
    --cc=tian.shu.qiu@intel.com \
    --cc=wouter@bolsterl.ee \
    --cc=yating.wang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).