linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Guoqing Jiang <guoqing.jiang@cloud.ionos.com>
To: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>, Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	hch@infradead.org, david@fromorbit.com,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>,
	William Kucharski <william.kucharski@oracle.com>,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Andreas Gruenbacher <agruenba@redhat.com>,
	Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>,
	Yafang Shao <laoar.shao@gmail.com>, Song Liu <song@kernel.org>,
	linux-raid@vger.kernel.org, Chris Mason <clm@fb.com>,
	Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com>,
	David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>,
	linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org, Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org>,
	Chao Yu <chao@kernel.org>,
	linux-f2fs-devel@lists.sourceforge.net,
	linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org, Anton Altaparmakov <anton@tuxera.com>,
	linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net,
	Mike Marshall <hubcap@omnibond.com>,
	Martin Brandenburg <martin@omnibond.com>,
	devel@lists.orangefs.org, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>, Andreas Dilger <adilger@dilger.ca>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH V2 1/9] include/linux/pagemap.h: introduce attach/clear_page_private
Date: Fri, 1 May 2020 08:41:37 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <aacdc25b-4650-6251-acf5-5c2c8b77f292@cloud.ionos.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200501014954.GC23230@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>

On 5/1/20 3:49 AM, Al Viro wrote:
> On Fri, May 01, 2020 at 02:42:29AM +0100, Al Viro wrote:
>> On Thu, Apr 30, 2020 at 03:13:38PM -0700, Matthew Wilcox wrote:
>>
>>>> +/**
>>>> + * clear_page_private - clear page's private field and PG_private.
>>>> + * @page: page to be cleared.
>>>> + *
>>>> + * The counterpart function of attach_page_private.
>>>> + * Return: private data of page or NULL if page doesn't have private data.
>>>> + */
>>> Seems to me that the opposite of "attach" is "detach", not "clear".
>> Or "remove", perhaps...
> Actually, "detach" is better - neither "clear" nor "remove" imply "... and give
> me what used to be attached there", as this thing is doing.

Ok, seems we have reached the agreement about the new name ;-), will 
follow the instruction.

Thanks & Regards,
Guoqing

  reply	other threads:[~2020-05-01  6:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-04-30 21:44 [RFC PATCH V2 0/9] Introduce attach/clear_page_private to cleanup code Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 1/9] include/linux/pagemap.h: introduce attach/clear_page_private Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 22:10   ` Andreas Grünbacher
2020-05-01  6:38     ` Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 22:13   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-05-01  1:42     ` Al Viro
2020-05-01  1:49       ` Al Viro
2020-05-01  6:41         ` Guoqing Jiang [this message]
2020-05-01  6:39     ` Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 2/9] md: remove __clear_page_buffers and use attach/clear_page_private Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 3/9] btrfs: " Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 4/9] fs/buffer.c: " Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 5/9] f2fs: " Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 6/9] iomap: " Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 7/9] ntfs: replace attach_page_buffers with attach_page_private Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 8/9] orangefs: use attach/clear_page_private Guoqing Jiang
2020-04-30 21:44 ` [RFC PATCH V2 9/9] buffer_head.h: remove attach_page_buffers Guoqing Jiang
2020-05-01 22:16 ` [RFC PATCH V2 0/9] Introduce attach/clear_page_private to cleanup code Matthew Wilcox
2020-05-01 22:42   ` Guoqing Jiang
2020-05-02  0:41     ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-05-02  8:56       ` Guoqing Jiang

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=aacdc25b-4650-6251-acf5-5c2c8b77f292@cloud.ionos.com \
    --to=guoqing.jiang@cloud.ionos.com \
    --cc=adilger@dilger.ca \
    --cc=agruenba@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anton@tuxera.com \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=chao@kernel.org \
    --cc=clm@fb.com \
    --cc=darrick.wong@oracle.com \
    --cc=david@fromorbit.com \
    --cc=devel@lists.orangefs.org \
    --cc=dsterba@suse.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=hubcap@omnibond.com \
    --cc=jaegeuk@kernel.org \
    --cc=josef@toxicpanda.com \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=laoar.shao@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-f2fs-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux-raid@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=martin@omnibond.com \
    --cc=song@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=william.kucharski@oracle.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).