linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>
To: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Dmitry V. Levin" <ldv@altlinux.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Steven Rostedt" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	Firoz Khan <firoz.khan@linaro.org>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Hari Bathini <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>,
	Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	Andrew Donnellan <andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com>,
	Breno Leitao <leitao@debian.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Allison Randal <allison@lohutok.net>,
	Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 4/4] powerpc/64: Disable COMPAT if littleendian.
Date: Tue, 27 Aug 2019 22:21:09 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <c492253a54bab493b551498446639bd62e75551a.1566936688.git.msuchanek@suse.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1566936688.git.msuchanek@suse.de>

ppc32le was never really a thing. Endian swap is already disabled by
default so this 32bit support is kind of useless on ppc64le.

Signed-off-by: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>
---
 arch/powerpc/Kconfig | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/powerpc/Kconfig b/arch/powerpc/Kconfig
index 5bab0bb6b833..67cd1c4d1bae 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/powerpc/Kconfig
@@ -265,7 +265,7 @@ config PANIC_TIMEOUT
 
 config COMPAT
 	bool
-	default y if PPC64
+	default y if PPC64 && !CPU_LITTLE_ENDIAN
 	select COMPAT_BINFMT_ELF
 	select ARCH_WANT_OLD_COMPAT_IPC
 	select COMPAT_OLD_SIGACTION
-- 
2.22.0


      parent reply	other threads:[~2019-08-27 20:21 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-27 20:21 [PATCH 0/4] Disable compat cruft on ppc64le Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 1/4] fs: always build llseek Michal Suchanek
2019-08-28 15:15   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-28 16:15     ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-29  6:22       ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-29 10:06         ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-28 18:13   ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-08-28 18:16     ` Eric W. Biederman
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 2/4] powerpc: move common register copy functions from signal_32.c to signal.c Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` [PATCH 3/4] powerpc/64: make buildable without CONFIG_COMPAT Michal Suchanek
2019-08-27 20:36   ` Michal Suchánek
2019-08-27 20:21 ` Michal Suchanek [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=c492253a54bab493b551498446639bd62e75551a.1566936688.git.msuchanek@suse.de \
    --to=msuchanek@suse.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=firoz.khan@linaro.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hbathini@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=ldv@altlinux.org \
    --cc=leitao@debian.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mikey@neuling.org \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).