linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Bert Vermeulen <bert@biot.com>
To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	DTML <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux ARM" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"Anshuman Khandual" <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>,
	"John Crispin" <john@phrozen.org>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ardb@kernel.org>,
	"YiFei Zhu" <yifeifz2@illinois.edu>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Masahiro Yamada" <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	"Nathan Chancellor" <nathan@kernel.org>,
	"Viresh Kumar" <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	"Felix Fietkau" <nbd@nbd.name>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/5] ARM: Add basic support for EcoNet EN7523 SoC
Date: Mon, 9 Aug 2021 15:00:12 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <c9ec706f-4a55-a716-ed2e-5c04a6f6bffd@biot.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAMuHMdWni=2ggV7dQiy-nfF1nOmKferbZOCkLp0kDsvMNfwF2Q@mail.gmail.com>

On 8/9/21 2:46 PM, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
>> I didn't make that patch, but it turns out it's needed to get PSCI working;
>> detection hangs without it. That makes no sense to me, but I'll examine further.
> 
> Probably PSCI relies on the memory contents at the start of RAM not
> being overwritten?

It turns out to hang at the first SMC call, for PSCI_0_2_FN_PSCI_VERSION. I 
assume the receiver of that call, ATF, got dropped in that region by the 
vendor's U-Boot.

> Does it help if you remove the first 512 KiB from the /memory node
> (which should be declared in en7523-evb.dts instead of en7523.dtsi
> BTW)?
No it doesn't, was just trying to work out why not, in your 
fdt_check_mem_start().

Anyway that was Arnd's first suggestion, but I think his second suggestion 
(teach fdt_check_mem_start() about /memreserve/) is the cleaner approach to 
this. Opinions?


-- 
Bert Vermeulen
bert@biot.com

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-09 13:04 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-30 13:45 [PATCH 0/4] Add " Bert Vermeulen
2021-07-30 13:45 ` [PATCH 1/5] dt-bindings: Add vendor prefix for EcoNet Bert Vermeulen
2021-08-06 21:02   ` Rob Herring
2021-07-30 13:45 ` [PATCH 2/5] dt-bindings: arm: econet: Add binding for EN7523 SoC and EVB Bert Vermeulen
2021-08-06 21:04   ` Rob Herring
2021-07-30 13:45 ` [PATCH 3/5] ARM: dts: Add basic support for EcoNet EN7523 Bert Vermeulen
2021-07-30 14:31   ` Linus Walleij
     [not found]     ` <87y29n26po.wl-maz@kernel.org>
2021-08-01  9:07       ` Bert Vermeulen
2021-08-01  9:40         ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-07-30 14:45   ` Daniel Palmer
2021-07-30 14:46   ` Mark Rutland
2021-08-04 16:41     ` Bert Vermeulen
2021-08-06 20:59       ` Rob Herring
2021-07-30 14:59   ` Mark Rutland
2021-08-06 20:52     ` Rob Herring
2021-07-30 16:47   ` Andre Przywara
2021-07-30 13:45 ` [PATCH 4/5] ARM: Add basic support for EcoNet EN7523 SoC Bert Vermeulen
2021-07-30 14:48   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-07-30 15:15     ` John Crispin
2021-07-30 16:55       ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-01 16:44     ` Ard Biesheuvel
2021-09-03 16:20       ` Felix Fietkau
2021-09-03 17:47         ` Ard Biesheuvel
2021-08-04 16:43     ` Bert Vermeulen
2021-08-09 12:46       ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2021-08-09 12:49         ` Ard Biesheuvel
2021-08-09 13:00         ` Bert Vermeulen [this message]
2021-07-30 13:45 ` [PATCH 5/5] ARM: multi_v7_defconfig: Add " Bert Vermeulen
2021-07-30 14:26 ` [PATCH 0/4] " Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=c9ec706f-4a55-a716-ed2e-5c04a6f6bffd@biot.com \
    --to=bert@biot.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=john@phrozen.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=nbd@nbd.name \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=yifeifz2@illinois.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/5] ARM: Add basic support for EcoNet EN7523 SoC' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).