linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
* man-pages-6.03 released
@ 2023-02-12 21:18 Alejandro Colomar
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: Alejandro Colomar @ 2023-02-12 21:18 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: linux-man
  Cc: LKML, GNU C Library, groff, Michael Kerrisk, Jonathan Corbet,
	Sam James, Marcos Fouces


[-- Attachment #1.1: Type: text/plain, Size: 6375 bytes --]

Gidday!

I'm proud to announce:

	man-pages-6.03 - manual pages for GNU/Linux

The release tarball is already available at <kernel.org>.

Tarball download:
	<https://mirrors.edge.kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/man-pages/>
Git repository:
	<https://git.kernel.org/cgit/docs/man-pages/man-pages.git/>
PDF book:
	<https://mirrors.edge.kernel.org/pub/linux/docs/man-pages/book/>

The most notable changes in this release are:

-  We now have a hyperlinked PDF book of the Linux man-pages (see link above).

-  C89 is now considered obsolescent by the man-pages, which means that
   the STANDARDS section will only document C99 and later for ISO C
   versions, with a few exceptions where relevant.

-  Document glibc's <printf.h> in printf.h(3head).

-  Document arc4random(3)

-  New APIs have been added todocumented in perf_event_open(2) and
   prctl(2).

Thank you all for contributing!

Cheers,

Alex

==================== Changes in man-pages-6.03 ====================

Released: 2023-02-12, Xulilla


Contributors
------------

The following people contributed patches/fixes, reports, notes,
ideas, and discussions that have been incorporated in changes in
this release:

Aaron Peter Bachmann <aaron_ng@inode.at>
Adhemerval Zanella <adhemerval.zanella@linaro.org>
Ahelenia Ziemiańska <nabijaczleweli@nabijaczleweli.xyz>
Alejandro Colomar <alx@kernel.org>
Alex Colomar <alx.manpages@gmail.com>
Arsen Arsenović <arsen@aarsen.me>
Bernd Petrovitsch <bernd@petrovitsch.priv.at>
Brian Inglis <Brian.Inglis@Shaw.ca>
Colin Cross <ccross@google.com>
Cristian Rodríguez <crrodriguez@opensuse.org>
Deri James <deri@chuzzlewit.myzen.co.uk>
Elliott Hughes <enh@google.com>
Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>
Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
"G. Branden Robinson" <g.branden.robinson@gmail.com>
Günther Noack <gnoack3000@gmail.com>
Helge Kreutzmann <debian@helgefjell.de>
Ian Abbott <abbotti@mev.co.uk>
Jakub Wilk <jwilk@jwilk.net>
Jan Engelhardt <jengelh@inai.de>
"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>
Jonny Grant <jg@jguk.org>
Joseph Myers <joseph@codesourcery.com>
Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Lennart Jablonka <humm@ljabl.com>
Mario Blaettermann <mario.blaettermann@gmail.com>
Mark Galeck <markgaleck@gmail.com>
Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Nick Gregory <nick@nickgregory.me>
Pasha Tatashin <tatashin@google.com>
Paul Eggert <eggert@cs.ucla.edu>
<Radisson97@gmx.de>
Sam James <sam@gentoo.org>
Samanta Navarro <ferivoz@riseup.net>
"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
Stefan Puiu <stefan.puiu@gmail.com>
Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>
Thomas Weißschuh <linux@weissschuh.net>
Walter Harms <wharms@bfs.de>
Wilco Dijkstra <Wilco.Dijkstra@arm.com>
Zack Weinberg <zack@owlfolio.org>

Apologies if I missed anyone!


New and rewritten pages
-----------------------

man3/
	arc4random.3
	powerof2.3
	roundup.3

man3head/
	printf.h.3head


Newly documented interfaces in existing pages
---------------------------------------------

perf_event_open.2
	PERF_COUNT_SW_BPF_OUTPUT
	PERF_COUNT_SW_CGROUP_SWITCHES
	PERF_FORMAT_LOST
	PERF_RECORD_MISC_MMAP_BUILD_ID
	PERF_RECORD_MISC_SWITCH_OUT_PREEMPT
	PERF_SAMPLE_CODE_PAGE_SIZE
	PERF_SAMPLE_DATA_PAGE_SIZE
	PERF_SAMPLE_WEIGHT_STRUCT

	struct perf_event_attr::build_id
	struct perf_event_attr::inherit_thread
	struct perf_event_attr::remove_on_exec
	struct perf_event_attr::sigtrap
	struct perf_event_attr::aux_sample_size
	struct perf_event_attr::sig_data

	union perf_sample_weight

	struct read_format::values[]::lost

	struct::weight
	struct::data_page_size
	struct::code_page_size
	struct::size
	struct::data

	struct:: ::build_id_size
	struct:: ::build_id

prctl.2
	PR_SET_VMA
	PR_SET_VMA_ANON_NAME


New and changed links
---------------------

man3/
	arc4random_buf.3			(arc4random(3))
	arc4random_uniform.3			(arc4random(3))
	register_printf_modifier.3		(printf.h(3head))
	register_printf_specifier.3		(printf.h(3head))
	register_printf_type.3			(printf.h(3head))

man3const/
	PA_CHAR.3const				(printf.h(3head))
	PA_DOUBLE.3const			(printf.h(3head))
	PA_FLAG_LONG.3const			(printf.h(3head))
	PA_FLAG_LONG_DOUBLE.3const		(printf.h(3head))
	PA_FLAG_LONG_LONG.3const		(printf.h(3head))
	PA_FLAG_PTR.3const			(printf.h(3head))
	PA_FLAG_SHORT.3const			(printf.h(3head))
	PA_FLOAT.3const				(printf.h(3head))
	PA_INT.3const				(printf.h(3head))
	PA_LAST.3const				(printf.h(3head))
	PA_POINTER.3const			(printf.h(3head))
	PA_STRING.3const			(printf.h(3head))
	PA_WCHAR.3const				(printf.h(3head))
	PA_WSTRING.3const			(printf.h(3head))

man3type/
	printf_arginfo_size_function.3type	(printf.h(3head))
	printf_function.3type			(printf.h(3head))
	printf_info.3type			(printf.h(3head))
	printf_va_arg_function.3type		(printf.h(3head))


Global changes
--------------

-  Build system:
   -  Add scripts to produce a book of the Linux man-pages.
   -  Add lint-c-cppcheck to the make(1) targets to run the cppcheck(1)
      linter.

-  TH:
   -  Use correct letter case in page titles.  This started in 6.02, but
      there were still many cases left.

-  SYNOPSIS:
   -  Mark some functions as deprecated.

-  STANDARDS:
   -  Remove most references to ISO C89.  We still document it in
      standards(7), but it's an ancient language version that this
      project
      regards as obsolescent, so in the STANDARDS sections for APIs we
      only take into account C99 and later and POSIX.1-2001 and later
      (with few exceptions where older standards are relevant).

-  ffix:
   -  Change \- to - where appropriate
   -  Improve readability of numbers:
      -  Show BCD magic numbers that are meaningful in hex as hex,
         rather than weird decimal numbers.
      -  Use IEC multipliers.
   -  Format ranges consistently using interval notation: [min, max].

-  srcfix:
   -  Use \[] escapes.


Changes to individual pages
---------------------------

timespec.3type
	Update tv_nsec according to C2x.


The manual pages (and other files in the repository) have been improved
beyond what this changelog covers.  To learn more about changes applied
to individual pages, use git(1).


-- 
<http://www.alejandro-colomar.es/>
GPG key fingerprint: A9348594CE31283A826FBDD8D57633D441E25BB5

[-- Attachment #2: OpenPGP digital signature --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 833 bytes --]

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, other threads:[~2023-02-12 21:18 UTC | newest]

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2023-02-12 21:18 man-pages-6.03 released Alejandro Colomar

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).