linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Finn Thain <fthain@linux-m68k.org>
To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>,
	Brendan Jackman <jackmanb@google.com>,
	kernel test robot <lkp@intel.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] m68k: Fix asm register constraints for atomic ops
Date: Mon, 26 Jul 2021 09:44:27 +1000 (AEST)	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <db2de193-a10-598-a21e-3a305b91d191@linux-m68k.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210725104618.365790-1-geert@linux-m68k.org>

On Sun, 25 Jul 2021, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:

> Fixes: d839bae4269aea46 ("locking,arch,m68k: Fold atomic_ops")
> ...
> Technically, the issue was present before, but I doubt adding pre-v3.18
> Fixes tags would make any difference for stable...

There is a better way to constrain backporting, that is Cc: 
stable@vger.kernel.org # 3.12+

The reason I mention it is that Fixes tags could be seen as a way to 
identify commits that introduce bugs, e.g. for the purposes of training 
AIs, or attributing blame, or measuring quality etc. I think it would be 
unfair to point the finger at Peter's commit.

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-25 23:45 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-25 10:46 Geert Uytterhoeven
2021-07-25 14:24 ` Andreas Schwab
2021-07-26  7:29   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2021-07-25 15:26 ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-07-25 23:44 ` Finn Thain [this message]
2021-07-26  7:34   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2021-07-26  7:39     ` Arnd Bergmann

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=db2de193-a10-598-a21e-3a305b91d191@linux-m68k.org \
    --to=fthain@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=boqun.feng@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gerg@uclinux.org \
    --cc=jackmanb@google.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=lkp@intel.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] m68k: Fix asm register constraints for atomic ops' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).