linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
To: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>, Al Cooper <alcooperx@gmail.com>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	BCM Kernel Feedback <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com>,
	DTML <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-mmc <linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Nicolas Saenz Julienne <nsaenz@kernel.org>,
	Ray Jui <rjui@broadcom.com>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Scott Branden <sbranden@broadcom.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] mmc: sdhci-iproc: Add support for the legacy sdhci controller on the BCM7211
Date: Tue, 8 Jun 2021 20:07:05 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <fe956941-bb39-413e-f051-d9f353f64eda@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAPDyKFrynST66yA_T3iroiJsfmNuBOEiiBnb=vNoyP6QpvZ7aQ@mail.gmail.com>



On 6/8/2021 5:40 AM, Ulf Hansson wrote:
> On Wed, 2 Jun 2021 at 21:28, Al Cooper <alcooperx@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>> Add support for the legacy Arasan sdhci controller on the BCM7211 and
>> related SoC's. This includes adding a .shutdown callback to increase
>> the power savings during S5.
> 
> Please split this into two separate changes.
> 
> May I also ask about the ->shutdown() callback and in relation to S5.
> What makes the ->shutdown callback only being invoked for S5?

It is not only called for S5 (entered via poweroff on a prompt) but also
during kexec or reboot. The poweroff path is via:

kernel_power_off() -> kernel_shutdown_prepare() -> device_shutdown() ->
.shutdown()

For kexec or reboot we do not really care about power savings since we
are about to load a new image anyway, however for S5/poweroff we do care
about quiescing the eMMC controller in a way that its clocks and the
eMMC device can be put into low power mode since we will stay in that
mode for seconds/hours/days until someone presses a button on their
remote (or other wake-up sources).
-- 
Florian

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-09  3:08 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-02 19:27 [PATCH 1/2] dt-bindings: mmc: sdhci-iproc: Add brcm,bcm7211a0-sdhci Al Cooper
2021-06-02 19:27 ` [PATCH 2/2] mmc: sdhci-iproc: Add support for the legacy sdhci controller on the BCM7211 Al Cooper
2021-06-08 12:40   ` Ulf Hansson
2021-06-09  3:07     ` Florian Fainelli [this message]
2021-06-09  9:22       ` Ulf Hansson
2021-06-09 23:59         ` Florian Fainelli
2021-06-10  8:49           ` Ulf Hansson
2021-06-10 15:59             ` Florian Fainelli
2021-06-11 10:23               ` Ulf Hansson
2021-06-11 16:54                 ` Florian Fainelli
2021-06-14 13:19                   ` Ulf Hansson
2021-06-14 19:29                     ` Florian Fainelli
2021-06-15 15:30                       ` Ulf Hansson
2021-06-15 15:51                         ` Florian Fainelli
2021-06-15 23:46 ` [PATCH 1/2] dt-bindings: mmc: sdhci-iproc: Add brcm,bcm7211a0-sdhci Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=fe956941-bb39-413e-f051-d9f353f64eda@gmail.com \
    --to=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=alcooperx@gmail.com \
    --cc=bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nsaenz@kernel.org \
    --cc=rjui@broadcom.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sbranden@broadcom.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/2] mmc: sdhci-iproc: Add support for the legacy sdhci controller on the BCM7211' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).