Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40@gmail.com>
To: Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	bjorn@helgaas.com, Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhav.varodek@gmail.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	David Dillow <dave@thedillows.org>,
	Ion Badulescu <ionut@badula.org>,
	Netanel Belgazal <netanel@amazon.com>,
	Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@amazon.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>,
	Saeed Bishara <saeedb@amazon.com>,
	Zorik Machulsky <zorik@amazon.com>,
	Derek Chickles <dchickles@marvell.com>,
	Satanand Burla <sburla@marvell.com>,
	Felix Manlunas <fmanlunas@marvell.com>,
	Denis Kirjanov <kda@linux-powerpc.org>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Sriharsha Basavapatna <sriharsha.basavapatna@broadcom.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Tariq Toukan <tariqt@mellanox.com>, Jon Mason <jdmason@kudzu.us>
Cc: Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40@gmail.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel-mentees@lists.linuxfoundation.org,
	skhan@linuxfoundation.org
Subject: [PATCH v1 00/11] net: ethernet: use generic power management
Date: Wed,  1 Jul 2020 18:29:27 +0530
Message-ID: <20200701125938.639447-1-vaibhavgupta40@gmail.com> (raw)

Linux Kernel Mentee: Remove Legacy Power Management.

The purpose of this patch series is to remove legacy power management callbacks
from amd ethernet drivers.

The callbacks performing suspend() and resume() operations are still calling
pci_save_state(), pci_set_power_state(), etc. and handling the power management
themselves, which is not recommended.

The conversion requires the removal of the those function calls and change the
callback definition accordingly and make use of dev_pm_ops structure.

All patches are compile-tested only.

Vaibhav Gupta (11):
  typhoon: use generic power management
  ne2k-pci: use generic power management
  starfire: use generic power management
  ena_netdev: use generic power management
  liquidio: use generic power management
  sundance: use generic power management
  benet: use generic power management
  mlx4: use generic power management
  ksz884x: use generic power management
  vxge: use generic power management
  natsemi: use generic power management

 drivers/net/ethernet/3com/typhoon.c           | 53 +++++++++++--------
 drivers/net/ethernet/8390/ne2k-pci.c          | 29 +++-------
 drivers/net/ethernet/adaptec/starfire.c       | 23 +++-----
 drivers/net/ethernet/amazon/ena/ena_netdev.c  | 21 +++-----
 .../net/ethernet/cavium/liquidio/lio_main.c   | 31 ++---------
 drivers/net/ethernet/dlink/sundance.c         | 27 +++-------
 drivers/net/ethernet/emulex/benet/be_main.c   | 22 +++-----
 drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx4/main.c     | 11 ++--
 drivers/net/ethernet/micrel/ksz884x.c         | 25 ++++-----
 drivers/net/ethernet/natsemi/natsemi.c        | 26 +++------
 .../net/ethernet/neterion/vxge/vxge-main.c    | 14 ++---
 11 files changed, 100 insertions(+), 182 deletions(-)

-- 
2.27.0


             reply index

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-01 12:59 Vaibhav Gupta [this message]
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 01/11] typhoon: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 02/11] ne2k-pci: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 03/11] starfire: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 04/11] ena_netdev: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 15:58   ` Jakub Kicinski
2020-07-01 16:45     ` Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 05/11] liquidio: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 06/11] sundance: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 07/11] benet: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 08/11] mlx4: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 09/11] ksz884x: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 10/11] vxge: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 12:59 ` [PATCH v1 11/11] natsemi: " Vaibhav Gupta
2020-07-01 13:05 ` [PATCH v1 00/11] net: ethernet: " Vaibhav Gupta

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200701125938.639447-1-vaibhavgupta40@gmail.com \
    --to=vaibhavgupta40@gmail.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akiyano@amazon.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn@helgaas.com \
    --cc=dave@thedillows.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dchickles@marvell.com \
    --cc=fmanlunas@marvell.com \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=ionut@badula.org \
    --cc=jdmason@kudzu.us \
    --cc=kda@linux-powerpc.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel-mentees@lists.linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netanel@amazon.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=saeedb@amazon.com \
    --cc=sburla@marvell.com \
    --cc=skhan@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sriharsha.basavapatna@broadcom.com \
    --cc=tariqt@mellanox.com \
    --cc=vaibhav.varodek@gmail.com \
    --cc=zorik@amazon.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/netdev/0 netdev/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/netdev/1 netdev/git/1.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 netdev netdev/ https://lore.kernel.org/netdev \
		netdev@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index netdev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.netdev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git