netdev.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>
To: Colin Foster <colin.foster@in-advantage.com>
Cc: linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Claudiu Manoil" <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	"John Crispin" <john@phrozen.org>,
	"Sean Wang" <sean.wang@mediatek.com>,
	"DENG Qingfang" <dqfext@gmail.com>,
	"Landen Chao" <Landen.Chao@mediatek.com>,
	"nç ÜNAL" <arinc.unal@arinc9.com>,
	"Matthias Brugger" <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	"Paolo Abeni" <pabeni@redhat.com>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Eric Dumazet" <edumazet@google.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Vivien Didelot" <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	"Andrew Lunn" <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@linaro.org>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 net-next 2/6] dt-bindings: net: dsa: qca8k: utilize shared dsa.yaml
Date: Thu, 10 Nov 2022 01:07:59 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20221109230759.gw7prntz7i5lxwiq@skbuf> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20221104045204.746124-3-colin.foster@in-advantage.com> <20221104045204.746124-3-colin.foster@in-advantage.com>

On Thu, Nov 03, 2022 at 09:52:00PM -0700, Colin Foster wrote:
> The dsa.yaml binding contains duplicated bindings for address and size
> cells, as well as the reference to dsa-port.yaml. Instead of duplicating
> this information, remove the reference to dsa-port.yaml and include the
> full reference to dsa.yaml.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Colin Foster <colin.foster@in-advantage.com>
> Suggested-by: Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>
> ---
> 
> v1 -> v2
>   * Add #address-cells and #size-cells to the switch layer. They aren't
>     part of dsa.yaml.

I'm afraid this is not the correct resolution to the warnings you saw.
There is no reason to have #address-cells = <1> under the "switch" node,
since none of that node's children have a unit address (see: "ports", "mdio").
The schema example is wrong, please fix that.

  reply	other threads:[~2022-11-09 23:08 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-11-04  4:51 [PATCH v2 net-next 0/6] dt-binding preparation for ocelot switches Colin Foster
2022-11-04  4:51 ` [PATCH v2 net-next 1/6] dt-bindings: net: dsa: allow additional ethernet-port properties Colin Foster
2022-11-04  4:52 ` [PATCH v2 net-next 2/6] dt-bindings: net: dsa: qca8k: utilize shared dsa.yaml Colin Foster
2022-11-09 23:07   ` Vladimir Oltean [this message]
2022-11-04  4:52 ` [PATCH v2 net-next 3/6] dt-bindings: net: dsa: mediatek,mt7530: remove unnecessary dsa-port reference Colin Foster
2022-11-04 18:53   ` Rob Herring
2022-11-05 18:17     ` Colin Foster
2022-11-04  4:52 ` [PATCH v2 net-next 4/6] dt-bindings: net: add generic ethernet-switch Colin Foster
2022-11-09 23:30   ` Vladimir Oltean
2022-11-04  4:52 ` [PATCH v2 net-next 5/6] dt-bindings: net: add generic ethernet-switch-port binding Colin Foster
2022-11-04 18:50   ` Rob Herring
2022-11-09 23:43     ` Vladimir Oltean
2022-11-04  4:52 ` [PATCH v2 net-next 6/6] dt-bindings: net: mscc,vsc7514-switch: utilize generic ethernet-switch.yaml Colin Foster
2022-11-04 18:28   ` Rob Herring
2022-11-04 20:02 ` [PATCH v2 net-next 0/6] dt-binding preparation for ocelot switches Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20221109230759.gw7prntz7i5lxwiq@skbuf \
    --to=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=Landen.Chao@mediatek.com \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=arinc.unal@arinc9.com \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=colin.foster@in-advantage.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dqfext@gmail.com \
    --cc=edumazet@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=john@phrozen.org \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@linaro.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=pabeni@redhat.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sean.wang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).