[AUTOSEL,4.18,065/100] perf/core: Fix perf_pmu_unregister() locking
diff mbox series

Message ID 20181016041221.135528-65-sashal@kernel.org
State New, archived
Headers show
Series
  • [AUTOSEL,4.18,001/100] xfrm: Validate address prefix lengths in the xfrm selector.
Related show

Commit Message

Sasha Levin Oct. 16, 2018, 4:11 a.m. UTC
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>

[ Upstream commit a9f9772114c8b07ae75bcb3654bd017461248095 ]

When we unregister a PMU, we fail to serialize the @pmu_idr properly.
Fix that by doing the entire thing under pmu_lock.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: 2e80a82a49c4 ("perf: Dynamic pmu types")
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
 kernel/events/core.c | 9 ++-------
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index ae22d93701db..b1ed5e99d9c6 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -9436,9 +9436,7 @@  static void free_pmu_context(struct pmu *pmu)
 	if (pmu->task_ctx_nr > perf_invalid_context)
 		return;
 
-	mutex_lock(&pmus_lock);
 	free_percpu(pmu->pmu_cpu_context);
-	mutex_unlock(&pmus_lock);
 }
 
 /*
@@ -9694,12 +9692,8 @@  EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(perf_pmu_register);
 
 void perf_pmu_unregister(struct pmu *pmu)
 {
-	int remove_device;
-
 	mutex_lock(&pmus_lock);
-	remove_device = pmu_bus_running;
 	list_del_rcu(&pmu->entry);
-	mutex_unlock(&pmus_lock);
 
 	/*
 	 * We dereference the pmu list under both SRCU and regular RCU, so
@@ -9711,13 +9705,14 @@  void perf_pmu_unregister(struct pmu *pmu)
 	free_percpu(pmu->pmu_disable_count);
 	if (pmu->type >= PERF_TYPE_MAX)
 		idr_remove(&pmu_idr, pmu->type);
-	if (remove_device) {
+	if (pmu_bus_running) {
 		if (pmu->nr_addr_filters)
 			device_remove_file(pmu->dev, &dev_attr_nr_addr_filters);
 		device_del(pmu->dev);
 		put_device(pmu->dev);
 	}
 	free_pmu_context(pmu);
+	mutex_unlock(&pmus_lock);
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(perf_pmu_unregister);