[v2,3/3] bitops.h: set_mask_bits() to return old value
diff mbox series

Message ID 1548275584-18096-4-git-send-email-vgupta@synopsys.com
State In Next
Commit 0bc5f18cb97adda3b83be64dc99dcb7b9d8399b4
Headers show
Series
  • Replace opencoded set_mask_bits
Related show

Commit Message

Vineet Gupta Jan. 23, 2019, 8:33 p.m. UTC
| > Also, set_mask_bits is used in fs quite a bit and we can possibly come up
| > with a generic llsc based implementation (w/o the cmpxchg loop)
|
| May I also suggest changing the return value of set_mask_bits() to old.
|
| You can compute the new value given old, but you cannot compute the old
| value given new, therefore old is the better return value. Also, no
| current user seems to use the return value, so changing it is without
| risk.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/g/20150807110955.GH16853@twins.programming.kicks-ass.net
Suggested-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Reviewed-by: Anthony Yznaga <anthony.yznaga@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
---
 include/linux/bitops.h | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/include/linux/bitops.h b/include/linux/bitops.h
index 705f7c442691..602af23b98c7 100644
--- a/include/linux/bitops.h
+++ b/include/linux/bitops.h
@@ -246,7 +246,7 @@  static __always_inline void __assign_bit(long nr, volatile unsigned long *addr,
 		new__ = (old__ & ~mask__) | bits__;		\
 	} while (cmpxchg(ptr, old__, new__) != old__);		\
 								\
-	new__;							\
+	old__;							\
 })
 #endif