[v6,2/4] mm/util.c: make vm_memory_committed() more accurate
diff mbox series

Message ID 1594389708-60781-3-git-send-email-feng.tang@intel.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • make vm_committed_as_batch aware of vm overcommit policy
Related show

Commit Message

Feng Tang July 10, 2020, 2:01 p.m. UTC
percpu_counter_sum_positive() will provide more accurate info.

As with percpu_counter_read_positive(), in worst case the deviation could
be 'batch * nr_cpus', which is totalram_pages/256 for now, and will be
more when the batch gets enlarged.

Its time cost is about 800 nanoseconds on a 2C/4T platform and 2~3
microseconds on a 2S/36C/72T Skylake server in normal case, and in worst
case where vm_committed_as's spinlock is under severe contention, it costs
30~40 microseconds for the 2S/36C/72T Skylake sever, which should be fine
for its only two users: /proc/meminfo and HyperV balloon driver's status
trace per second.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1592725000-73486-3-git-send-email-feng.tang@intel.com
Signed-off-by: Feng Tang <feng.tang@intel.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> # for /proc/meminfo
Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox (Oracle) <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---
 mm/util.c | 7 ++++++-
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/mm/util.c b/mm/util.c
index c856f5f..d076218 100644
--- a/mm/util.c
+++ b/mm/util.c
@@ -787,10 +787,15 @@  struct percpu_counter vm_committed_as ____cacheline_aligned_in_smp;
  * balancing memory across competing virtual machines that are hosted.
  * Several metrics drive this policy engine including the guest reported
  * memory commitment.
+ *
+ * The time cost of this is very low for small platforms, and for big
+ * platform like a 2S/36C/72T Skylake server, in worst case where
+ * vm_committed_as's spinlock is under severe contention, the time cost
+ * could be about 30~40 microseconds.
  */
 unsigned long vm_memory_committed(void)
 {
-	return percpu_counter_read_positive(&vm_committed_as);
+	return percpu_counter_sum_positive(&vm_committed_as);
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(vm_memory_committed);