[04/13] misc/habana: Use FOLL_LONGTERM for userptr
diff mbox series

Message ID 20201007164426.1812530-5-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
State New, archived
Headers show
Series
  • follow_pfn and other iomap races
Related show

Commit Message

Daniel Vetter Oct. 7, 2020, 4:44 p.m. UTC
These are persistent, not just for the duration of a dma operation.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Oded Gabbay <oded.gabbay@gmail.com>
Cc: Omer Shpigelman <oshpigelman@habana.ai>
Cc: Ofir Bitton <obitton@habana.ai>
Cc: Tomer Tayar <ttayar@habana.ai>
Cc: Moti Haimovski <mhaimovski@habana.ai>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Pawel Piskorski <ppiskorski@habana.ai>
---
 drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Comments

John Hubbard Oct. 7, 2020, 8:46 p.m. UTC | #1
On 10/7/20 9:44 AM, Daniel Vetter wrote:
> These are persistent, not just for the duration of a dma operation.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Oded Gabbay <oded.gabbay@gmail.com>
> Cc: Omer Shpigelman <oshpigelman@habana.ai>
> Cc: Ofir Bitton <obitton@habana.ai>
> Cc: Tomer Tayar <ttayar@habana.ai>
> Cc: Moti Haimovski <mhaimovski@habana.ai>
> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Pawel Piskorski <ppiskorski@habana.ai>
> ---
>   drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c | 3 ++-
>   1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
> index ef89cfa2f95a..94bef8faa82a 100644
> --- a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
> +++ b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
> @@ -1288,7 +1288,8 @@ static int get_user_memory(struct hl_device *hdev, u64 addr, u64 size,
>   		return -ENOMEM;
>   	}
>   
> -	rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages, FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE,
> +	rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages,
> +				 FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE | FOLL_LONGTERM,
>   				 userptr->pages);
>   
>   	if (rc != npages) {
> 

Again, from a pin_user_pages_fast() point of view, and not being at all familiar
with the habana driver (but their use of this really does seem clearly _LONGTERM!):

Reviewed-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>

thanks,

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
index ef89cfa2f95a..94bef8faa82a 100644
--- a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
+++ b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
@@ -1288,7 +1288,8 @@  static int get_user_memory(struct hl_device *hdev, u64 addr, u64 size,
 		return -ENOMEM;
 	}
 
-	rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages, FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE,
+	rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages,
+				 FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE | FOLL_LONGTERM,
 				 userptr->pages);
 
 	if (rc != npages) {