[14/16] rcu: Locally accelerate callbacks as long as offloading isn't complete
diff mbox series

Message ID 20201023144649.53046-15-frederic@kernel.org
State New, archived
Headers show
Series
  • rcu/nocb: De-offload and re-offload support v3
Related show

Commit Message

Frederic Weisbecker Oct. 23, 2020, 2:46 p.m. UTC
The local callbacks processing checks if some callbacks need
acceleration. Keep that behaviour under nocb lock protection when
rcu_core() executes concurrently with GP/CB kthreads.

Inspired-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@kernel.org>
Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>
Cc: Neeraj Upadhyay <neeraju@codeaurora.org>
---
 kernel/rcu/tree.c | 7 +++----
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/kernel/rcu/tree.c b/kernel/rcu/tree.c
index 45fad6977bea..4af5fed11885 100644
--- a/kernel/rcu/tree.c
+++ b/kernel/rcu/tree.c
@@ -2673,7 +2673,6 @@  static __latent_entropy void rcu_core(void)
 	unsigned long flags;
 	struct rcu_data *rdp = raw_cpu_ptr(&rcu_data);
 	struct rcu_node *rnp = rdp->mynode;
-	const bool offloaded = rcu_segcblist_is_offloaded(&rdp->cblist);
 	const bool do_batch = !rcu_segcblist_completely_offloaded(&rdp->cblist);
 
 	if (cpu_is_offline(smp_processor_id()))
@@ -2694,11 +2693,11 @@  static __latent_entropy void rcu_core(void)
 
 	/* No grace period and unregistered callbacks? */
 	if (!rcu_gp_in_progress() &&
-	    rcu_segcblist_is_enabled(&rdp->cblist) && !offloaded) {
-		local_irq_save(flags);
+	    rcu_segcblist_is_enabled(&rdp->cblist) && do_batch) {
+		rcu_nocb_lock_irqsave(rdp, flags);
 		if (!rcu_segcblist_restempty(&rdp->cblist, RCU_NEXT_READY_TAIL))
 			rcu_accelerate_cbs_unlocked(rnp, rdp);
-		local_irq_restore(flags);
+		rcu_nocb_unlock_irqrestore(rdp, flags);
 	}
 
 	rcu_check_gp_start_stall(rnp, rdp, rcu_jiffies_till_stall_check());