[v7,04/17] misc/habana: Use FOLL_LONGTERM for userptr
diff mbox series

Message ID 20201127164131.2244124-5-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
State New, archived
Headers show
Series
  • follow_pfn and other iomap races
Related show

Commit Message

Daniel Vetter Nov. 27, 2020, 4:41 p.m. UTC
These are persistent, not just for the duration of a dma operation.

Reviewed-by: Oded Gabbay <ogabbay@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Oded Gabbay <oded.gabbay@gmail.com>
Cc: Omer Shpigelman <oshpigelman@habana.ai>
Cc: Ofir Bitton <obitton@habana.ai>
Cc: Tomer Tayar <ttayar@habana.ai>
Cc: Moti Haimovski <mhaimovski@habana.ai>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Pawel Piskorski <ppiskorski@habana.ai>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
---
 drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Comments

Oded Gabbay Dec. 22, 2020, 4:07 p.m. UTC | #1
On Fri, Nov 27, 2020 at 6:42 PM Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> wrote:
>
> These are persistent, not just for the duration of a dma operation.
>
> Reviewed-by: Oded Gabbay <ogabbay@kernel.org>
> Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Oded Gabbay <oded.gabbay@gmail.com>
> Cc: Omer Shpigelman <oshpigelman@habana.ai>
> Cc: Ofir Bitton <obitton@habana.ai>
> Cc: Tomer Tayar <ttayar@habana.ai>
> Cc: Moti Haimovski <mhaimovski@habana.ai>
> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Pawel Piskorski <ppiskorski@habana.ai>
> Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
> ---
>  drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c | 3 ++-
>  1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
> index 2c59fa869684..0d25ae1d5f3e 100644
> --- a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
> +++ b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
> @@ -1296,7 +1296,8 @@ static int get_user_memory(struct hl_device *hdev, u64 addr, u64 size,
>         if (!userptr->pages)
>                 return -ENOMEM;
>
> -       rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages, FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE,
> +       rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages,
> +                                FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE | FOLL_LONGTERM,
>                                  userptr->pages);
>
>         if (rc != npages) {
> --
> 2.29.2
>

Hi Daniel,
Is this patch-set going to be in 5.11 ?
If not, can I just pick the two patches relevant to my driver and push
them through my tree ?

Thanks,
Oded

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
index 2c59fa869684..0d25ae1d5f3e 100644
--- a/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
+++ b/drivers/misc/habanalabs/common/memory.c
@@ -1296,7 +1296,8 @@  static int get_user_memory(struct hl_device *hdev, u64 addr, u64 size,
 	if (!userptr->pages)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 
-	rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages, FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE,
+	rc = pin_user_pages_fast(start, npages,
+				 FOLL_FORCE | FOLL_WRITE | FOLL_LONGTERM,
 				 userptr->pages);
 
 	if (rc != npages) {