[v2,07/28] sched: Add needbreak for rwlocks
diff mbox series

Message ID 20210202185734.1680553-8-bgardon@google.com
State New, archived
Headers show
Series
  • Allow parallel MMU operations with TDP MMU
Related show

Commit Message

Ben Gardon Feb. 2, 2021, 6:57 p.m. UTC
Contention awareness while holding a spin lock is essential for reducing
latency when long running kernel operations can hold that lock. Add the
same contention detection interface for read/write spin locks.

CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
CC: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Acked-by: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Gardon <bgardon@google.com>
---
 include/linux/sched.h | 17 +++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 17 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/include/linux/sched.h b/include/linux/sched.h
index 6e3a5eeec509..5d1378e5a040 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched.h
@@ -1912,6 +1912,23 @@  static inline int spin_needbreak(spinlock_t *lock)
 #endif
 }
 
+/*
+ * Check if a rwlock is contended.
+ * Returns non-zero if there is another task waiting on the rwlock.
+ * Returns zero if the lock is not contended or the system / underlying
+ * rwlock implementation does not support contention detection.
+ * Technically does not depend on CONFIG_PREEMPTION, but a general need
+ * for low latency.
+ */
+static inline int rwlock_needbreak(rwlock_t *lock)
+{
+#ifdef CONFIG_PREEMPTION
+	return rwlock_is_contended(lock);
+#else
+	return 0;
+#endif
+}
+
 static __always_inline bool need_resched(void)
 {
 	return unlikely(tif_need_resched());