[v3,3/3] rseq: optimise rseq_get_rseq_cs() and clear_rseq_cs()
diff mbox series

Message ID 20210413203352.71350-4-eric.dumazet@gmail.com
State Accepted
Commit 5e0ccd4a3b01c5a71732a13186ca110a138516ea
Headers show
Series
  • rseq: minor optimizations
Related show

Commit Message

Eric Dumazet April 13, 2021, 8:33 p.m. UTC
From: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>

Commit ec9c82e03a74 ("rseq: uapi: Declare rseq_cs field as union,
update includes") added regressions for our servers.

Using copy_from_user() and clear_user() for 64bit values
is suboptimal.

We can use faster put_user() and get_user() on 64bit arches.

Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Arjun Roy <arjunroy@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
 kernel/rseq.c | 9 +++++++++
 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/kernel/rseq.c b/kernel/rseq.c
index cfe01ab5253c1c424c0e8b25acbb6a8e1b41a5b6..35f7bd0fced0e2dd8aed819e054dac03f024388a 100644
--- a/kernel/rseq.c
+++ b/kernel/rseq.c
@@ -127,8 +127,13 @@  static int rseq_get_rseq_cs(struct task_struct *t, struct rseq_cs *rseq_cs)
 	u32 sig;
 	int ret;
 
+#ifdef CONFIG_64BIT
+	if (get_user(ptr, &t->rseq->rseq_cs.ptr64))
+		return -EFAULT;
+#else
 	if (copy_from_user(&ptr, &t->rseq->rseq_cs.ptr64, sizeof(ptr)))
 		return -EFAULT;
+#endif
 	if (!ptr) {
 		memset(rseq_cs, 0, sizeof(*rseq_cs));
 		return 0;
@@ -211,9 +216,13 @@  static int clear_rseq_cs(struct task_struct *t)
 	 *
 	 * Set rseq_cs to NULL.
 	 */
+#ifdef CONFIG_64BIT
+	return put_user(0UL, &t->rseq->rseq_cs.ptr64);
+#else
 	if (clear_user(&t->rseq->rseq_cs.ptr64, sizeof(t->rseq->rseq_cs.ptr64)))
 		return -EFAULT;
 	return 0;
+#endif
 }
 
 /*