[3/3] sched/topology: Skip updating masks for non-online nodes
diff mbox series

Message ID 20210520154427.1041031-4-srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com
State New, archived
Headers show
Series
  • Skip numa distance for offline nodes
Related show

Commit Message

Srikar Dronamraju May 20, 2021, 3:44 p.m. UTC
Currently scheduler doesn't check if node is online before adding CPUs
to the node mask. However on some architectures, node distance is only
available for nodes that are online. Its not sure how much to rely on
the node distance, when one of the nodes is offline.

If said node distance is fake (since one of the nodes is offline) and
the actual node distance is different, then the cpumask of such nodes
when the nodes become becomes online will be wrong.

This can cause topology_span_sane to throw up a warning message and the
rest of the topology being not updated properly.

Resolve this by skipping update of cpumask for nodes that are not
online.

Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: Nathan Lynch <nathanl@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
Cc: Scott Cheloha <cheloha@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Gautham R Shenoy <ego@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: Geetika Moolchandani <Geetika.Moolchandani1@ibm.com>
Reported-by: Geetika Moolchandani <Geetika.Moolchandani1@ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
---
 kernel/sched/topology.c | 6 ++++++
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/kernel/sched/topology.c b/kernel/sched/topology.c
index ccb9aff59add..ba0555e83548 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/topology.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/topology.c
@@ -1731,6 +1731,9 @@  void sched_init_numa(void)
 			sched_domains_numa_masks[i][j] = mask;
 
 			for_each_node(k) {
+				if (!node_online(j))
+					continue;
+
 				if (sched_debug() && (node_distance(j, k) != node_distance(k, j)))
 					sched_numa_warn("Node-distance not symmetric");
 
@@ -1793,6 +1796,9 @@  void sched_domains_numa_masks_set(unsigned int cpu)
 
 	for (i = 0; i < sched_domains_numa_levels; i++) {
 		for (j = 0; j < nr_node_ids; j++) {
+			if (!node_online(j))
+				continue;
+
 			if (node_distance(j, node) <= sched_domains_numa_distance[i])
 				cpumask_set_cpu(cpu, sched_domains_numa_masks[i][j]);
 		}