[3.12,04/82] mm: fix page leak at nfs_symlink()
diff mbox series

Message ID 20140220235019.617973834@linuxfoundation.org
State New, archived
Headers show
Series
  • 3.12.13-stable review
Related show

Commit Message

Greg KH Feb. 20, 2014, 11:51 p.m. UTC
3.12-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com>

commit a0b54adda3fe4b4cc6d28f2a9217cd35d1aa888c upstream.

Changes in commit a0b8cab3b9b2 ("mm: remove lru parameter from
__pagevec_lru_add and remove parts of pagevec API") have introduced a
call to add_to_page_cache_lru() which causes a leak in nfs_symlink() as
now the page gets an extra refcount that is not dropped.

Jan Stancek observed and reported the leak effect while running test8
from Connectathon Testsuite.  After several iterations over the test
case, which creates several symlinks on a NFS mountpoint, the test
system was quickly getting into an out-of-memory scenario.

This patch fixes the page leak by dropping that extra refcount
add_to_page_cache_lru() is grabbing.

Signed-off-by: Jan Stancek <jstancek@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Jeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@primarydata.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
 fs/nfs/dir.c |    5 +++++
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)



--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/fs/nfs/dir.c
+++ b/fs/nfs/dir.c
@@ -1852,6 +1852,11 @@  int nfs_symlink(struct inode *dir, struc
 							GFP_KERNEL)) {
 		SetPageUptodate(page);
 		unlock_page(page);
+		/*
+		 * add_to_page_cache_lru() grabs an extra page refcount.
+		 * Drop it here to avoid leaking this page later.
+		 */
+		page_cache_release(page);
 	} else
 		__free_page(page);