qemu-devel.nongnu.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sergio Lopez <slp@redhat.com>
To: qemu-devel@nongnu.org
Cc: "Fam Zheng" <fam@euphon.net>,
	"John G Johnson" <john.g.johnson@oracle.com>,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org, "David Hildenbrand" <david@redhat.com>,
	"Eric Farman" <farman@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Jagannathan Raman" <jag.raman@oracle.com>,
	"Matthew Rosato" <mjrosato@linux.ibm.com>,
	qemu-block@nongnu.org, "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Elena Ufimtseva" <elena.ufimtseva@oracle.com>,
	"Halil Pasic" <pasic@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Christian Borntraeger" <borntraeger@linux.ibm.com>,
	vgoyal@redhat.com, "Thomas Huth" <thuth@redhat.com>,
	"Sergio Lopez" <slp@redhat.com>,
	"Richard Henderson" <richard.henderson@linaro.org>,
	"Alex Williamson" <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	"Stefan Hajnoczi" <stefanha@redhat.com>,
	"Kevin Wolf" <kwolf@redhat.com>,
	qemu-s390x@nongnu.org, "Cornelia Huck" <cohuck@redhat.com>,
	"Philippe Mathieu-Daudé" <f4bug@amsat.org>,
	"Hanna Reitz" <hreitz@redhat.com>,
	"Paolo Bonzini" <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 0/4] Enable vhost-user to be used on BSD systems
Date: Fri,  4 Mar 2022 11:08:50 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20220304100854.14829-1-slp@redhat.com> (raw)

Since QEMU is already able to emulate ioeventfd using pipefd, we're already\r
pretty close to supporting vhost-user on non-Linux systems.\r
\r
This two patches bridge the gap by:\r
\r
1. Adding a new event_notifier_get_wfd() to return wfd on the places where\r
   the peer is expected to write to the notifier.\r
\r
2. Modifying the build system to it allows enabling vhost-user on BSD.\r
\r
v1->v2:\r
  - Drop: "Allow returning EventNotifier's wfd" (Alex Williamson)\r
  - Add: "event_notifier: add event_notifier_get_wfd()" (Alex Williamson)\r
  - Add: "vhost: use wfd on functions setting vring call fd"\r
  - Rename: "Allow building vhost-user in BSD" to "configure, meson: allow\r
    enabling vhost-user on all POSIX systems"\r
  - Instead of making possible enabling vhost-user on Linux and BSD systems,\r
    allow enabling it on all non-Windows platforms. (Paolo Bonzini)\r
\r
v2->v3:\r
  - Add a section to docs/interop/vhost-user.rst explaining how vhost-user\r
    is supported on non-Linux platforms. (Stefan Hajnoczi)\r
\r
v3->v4:\r
  - Some documentation fixes. (Stefan Hajnoczi)\r
  - Pick up Reviewed-by tags.\r
\r
Sergio Lopez (4):\r
  event_notifier: add event_notifier_get_wfd()\r
  vhost: use wfd on functions setting vring call fd\r
  configure, meson: allow enabling vhost-user on all POSIX systems\r
  docs: vhost-user: add subsection for non-Linux platforms\r
\r
 configure                     |  4 ++--\r
 docs/interop/vhost-user.rst   | 20 ++++++++++++++++++++\r
 hw/virtio/vhost.c             |  6 +++---\r
 include/qemu/event_notifier.h |  1 +\r
 meson.build                   |  2 +-\r
 util/event_notifier-posix.c   |  5 +++++\r
 6 files changed, 32 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)\r
\r
-- \r
2.35.1\r
\r



             reply	other threads:[~2022-03-04 10:10 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-03-04 10:08 Sergio Lopez [this message]
2022-03-04 10:08 ` [PATCH v4 1/4] event_notifier: add event_notifier_get_wfd() Sergio Lopez
2022-03-04 10:08 ` [PATCH v4 2/4] vhost: use wfd on functions setting vring call fd Sergio Lopez
2022-03-04 10:08 ` [PATCH v4 3/4] configure, meson: allow enabling vhost-user on all POSIX systems Sergio Lopez
2022-03-07  9:39   ` Thomas Huth
2022-03-04 10:08 ` [PATCH v4 4/4] docs: vhost-user: add subsection for non-Linux platforms Sergio Lopez
2022-03-07  9:25 ` [PATCH v4 0/4] Enable vhost-user to be used on BSD systems Stefan Hajnoczi

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20220304100854.14829-1-slp@redhat.com \
    --to=slp@redhat.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=elena.ufimtseva@oracle.com \
    --cc=f4bug@amsat.org \
    --cc=fam@euphon.net \
    --cc=farman@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hreitz@redhat.com \
    --cc=jag.raman@oracle.com \
    --cc=john.g.johnson@oracle.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kwolf@redhat.com \
    --cc=mjrosato@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=pasic@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=qemu-block@nongnu.org \
    --cc=qemu-devel@nongnu.org \
    --cc=qemu-s390x@nongnu.org \
    --cc=richard.henderson@linaro.org \
    --cc=stefanha@redhat.com \
    --cc=thuth@redhat.com \
    --cc=vgoyal@redhat.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 0/4] Enable vhost-user to be used on BSD systems' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).