qemu-devel.nongnu.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Dov Murik <dovmurik@linux.ibm.com>
To: "Daniel P. Berrangé" <berrange@redhat.com>
Cc: "Tom Lendacky" <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	"Ashish Kalra" <ashish.kalra@amd.com>,
	"Brijesh Singh" <brijesh.singh@amd.com>,
	"Eduardo Habkost" <ehabkost@redhat.com>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Connor Kuehl" <ckuehl@redhat.com>,
	"Philippe Mathieu-Daudé" <philmd@redhat.com>,
	"James Bottomley" <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Richard Henderson" <richard.henderson@linaro.org>,
	qemu-devel@nongnu.org,
	"Dr. David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>,
	"Dov Murik" <dovmurik@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Hubertus Franke" <frankeh@us.ibm.com>,
	"Jim Cadden" <jcadden@ibm.com>,
	"Tobin Feldman-Fitzthum" <tobin@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Paolo Bonzini" <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	"Laszlo Ersek" <lersek@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/2] x86/sev: generate SEV kernel loader hashes in x86_load_linux
Date: Wed, 29 Sep 2021 12:42:12 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <9218a3e1-ebd6-82c1-1eb3-16e70cd76a76@linux.ibm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YVH5SPW5eGFqQX1F@redhat.com>



On 27/09/2021 20:03, Daniel P. Berrangé wrote:
> On Wed, Aug 25, 2021 at 07:35:38AM +0000, Dov Murik wrote:
>> If SEV is enabled and a kernel is passed via -kernel, pass the hashes of
>> kernel/initrd/cmdline in an encrypted guest page to OVMF for SEV
>> measured boot.
>>
>> Co-developed-by: James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>
>> Signed-off-by: James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>
>> Signed-off-by: Dov Murik <dovmurik@linux.ibm.com>
>> Reviewed-by: Connor Kuehl <ckuehl@redhat.com>
>> ---
>>  hw/i386/x86.c | 25 ++++++++++++++++++++++++-
>>  1 file changed, 24 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>>
>> diff --git a/hw/i386/x86.c b/hw/i386/x86.c
>> index 00448ed55a..4044104cfe 100644
>> --- a/hw/i386/x86.c
>> +++ b/hw/i386/x86.c
>> @@ -45,6 +45,7 @@
>>  #include "hw/i386/fw_cfg.h"
>>  #include "hw/intc/i8259.h"
>>  #include "hw/rtc/mc146818rtc.h"
>> +#include "target/i386/sev_i386.h"
>>  
>>  #include "hw/acpi/cpu_hotplug.h"
>>  #include "hw/irq.h"
>> @@ -778,6 +779,7 @@ void x86_load_linux(X86MachineState *x86ms,
>>      const char *initrd_filename = machine->initrd_filename;
>>      const char *dtb_filename = machine->dtb;
>>      const char *kernel_cmdline = machine->kernel_cmdline;
>> +    KernelLoaderContext kernel_loader_context = {};
> 
> I think the variable name is overly verbose but could also benefit
> from a 'sev_' prefix. eg how about just calling the var 'sev_context'.

I'll consider a rename which includes 'sev_' and is a bit shorter.

> 
> In any case, its functionally fine, so can add 
> 
>   Reviewed-by: Daniel P. Berrangé <berrange@redhat.com>
> 

Thanks!

-Dov

> 
> Regards,
> Daniel
> 


  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-29  9:44 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-25  7:35 [PATCH v3 0/2] [RESEND] x86/sev: Measured Linux SEV guest with kernel/initrd/cmdline Dov Murik
2021-08-25  7:35 ` [PATCH v3 1/2] sev/i386: Introduce sev_add_kernel_loader_hashes for measured linux boot Dov Murik
2021-09-27 17:00   ` Daniel P. Berrangé
2021-09-29  9:39     ` Dov Murik
2021-08-25  7:35 ` [PATCH v3 2/2] x86/sev: generate SEV kernel loader hashes in x86_load_linux Dov Murik
2021-09-27 17:03   ` Daniel P. Berrangé
2021-09-29  9:42     ` Dov Murik [this message]
2021-09-02 12:02 ` [PATCH v3 0/2] [RESEND] x86/sev: Measured Linux SEV guest with kernel/initrd/cmdline Dov Murik
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2021-06-24 10:20 [PATCH v3 0/2] " Dov Murik
2021-06-24 10:20 ` [PATCH v3 2/2] x86/sev: generate SEV kernel loader hashes in x86_load_linux Dov Murik

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=9218a3e1-ebd6-82c1-1eb3-16e70cd76a76@linux.ibm.com \
    --to=dovmurik@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=ashish.kalra@amd.com \
    --cc=berrange@redhat.com \
    --cc=brijesh.singh@amd.com \
    --cc=ckuehl@redhat.com \
    --cc=dgilbert@redhat.com \
    --cc=ehabkost@redhat.com \
    --cc=frankeh@us.ibm.com \
    --cc=jcadden@ibm.com \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=lersek@redhat.com \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=philmd@redhat.com \
    --cc=qemu-devel@nongnu.org \
    --cc=richard.henderson@linaro.org \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=tobin@linux.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 2/2] x86/sev: generate SEV kernel loader hashes in x86_load_linux' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).