QEMU-Devel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Peter Maydell <peter.maydell@linaro.org>
To: tony.nguyen@bt.com
Cc: "KONRAD Frederic" <frederic.konrad@adacore.com>,
	"Alberto Garcia" <berto@igalia.com>,
	Qemu-block <qemu-block@nongnu.org>,
	"Aleksandar Rikalo" <arikalo@wavecomp.com>,
	"Halil Pasic" <pasic@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Hervé Poussineau" <hpoussin@reactos.org>,
	"Anthony PERARD" <anthony.perard@citrix.com>,
	"open list:X86" <xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org>,
	"Laszlo Ersek" <lersek@redhat.com>,
	"Jason Wang" <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	"Jiří Pírko" <jiri@resnulli.us>,
	"Eduardo Habkost" <ehabkost@redhat.com>,
	"Beniamino Galvani" <b.galvani@gmail.com>,
	"Eric Auger" <eric.auger@redhat.com>,
	"Alex Williamson" <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	"Stefan Hajnoczi" <stefanha@redhat.com>,
	"John Snow" <jsnow@redhat.com>,
	"Richard Henderson" <rth@twiddle.net>,
	"Kevin Wolf" <kwolf@redhat.com>,
	"Andrew Jeffery" <andrew@aj.id.au>,
	claudio.fontana@suse.com, "Chris Wulff" <crwulff@gmail.com>,
	"Laurent Vivier" <laurent@vivier.eu>,
	"sundeep subbaraya" <sundeep.lkml@gmail.com>,
	"Michael Walle" <michael@walle.cc>,
	qemu-ppc <qemu-ppc@nongnu.org>,
	"Bastian Koppelmann" <kbastian@mail.uni-paderborn.de>,
	"Igor Mammedov" <imammedo@redhat.com>,
	"Fam Zheng" <fam@euphon.net>,
	"David Hildenbrand" <david@redhat.com>,
	"Palmer Dabbelt" <palmer@sifive.com>,
	"Keith Busch" <keith.busch@intel.com>,
	"Max Filippov" <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	"Hannes Reinecke" <hare@suse.com>,
	"Stefano Stabellini" <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	"Andrey Smirnov" <andrew.smirnov@gmail.com>,
	"Helge Deller" <deller@gmx.de>,
	"Magnus Damm" <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	"Artyom Tarasenko" <atar4qemu@gmail.com>,
	"Corey Minyard" <minyard@acm.org>, "Stefan Weil" <sw@weilnetz.de>,
	"Yuval Shaia" <yuval.shaia@oracle.com>,
	qemu-s390x <qemu-s390x@nongnu.org>,
	qemu-arm <qemu-arm@nongnu.org>, "Jan Kiszka" <jan.kiszka@web.de>,
	"Cédric Le Goater" <clg@kaod.org>,
	"Stafford Horne" <shorne@gmail.com>,
	"open list:RISC-V" <qemu-riscv@nongnu.org>,
	"Igor Mitsyanko" <i.mitsyanko@gmail.com>,
	"Cornelia Huck" <cohuck@redhat.com>,
	"Philippe Mathieu-Daudé" <philmd@redhat.com>,
	"Aleksandar Markovic" <amarkovic@wavecomp.com>,
	"Peter Chubb" <peter.chubb@nicta.com.au>,
	"Aurelien Jarno" <aurelien@aurel32.net>,
	"Paul Burton" <pburton@wavecomp.com>,
	"Sagar Karandikar" <sagark@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	"Anthony Green" <green@moxielogic.com>,
	"Gerd Hoffmann" <kraxel@redhat.com>,
	"Edgar E. Iglesias" <edgar.iglesias@gmail.com>,
	"Guan Xuetao" <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh@kernel.org>,
	"Christian Borntraeger" <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	"Joel Stanley" <joel@jms.id.au>,
	"Antony Pavlov" <antonynpavlov@gmail.com>,
	"Fabien Chouteau" <chouteau@adacore.com>,
	"Andrew Baumann" <Andrew.Baumann@microsoft.com>,
	"Max Reitz" <mreitz@redhat.com>,
	"Collin Walling" <walling@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Dmitry Fleytman" <dmitry.fleytman@gmail.com>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Mark Cave-Ayland" <mark.cave-ayland@ilande.co.uk>,
	"QEMU Developers" <qemu-devel@nongnu.org>,
	"Jiri Slaby" <jslaby@suse.cz>, "Marek Vasut" <marex@denx.de>,
	"Jia Liu" <proljc@gmail.com>,
	"Marc-André Lureau" <marcandre.lureau@redhat.com>,
	"Alistair Francis" <alistair@alistair23.me>,
	"Paul Durrant" <paul.durrant@citrix.com>,
	"David Gibson" <david@gibson.dropbear.id.au>,
	"Xiao Guangrong" <xiaoguangrong.eric@gmail.com>,
	"Thomas Huth" <huth@tuxfamily.org>,
	"Jean-Christophe DUBOIS" <jcd@tribudubois.net>,
	"Paolo Bonzini" <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	"Stefan Berger" <stefanb@linux.ibm.com>
Subject: Re: [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 00/42] Invert Endian bit in SPARCv9 MMU TTE
Date: Fri, 16 Aug 2019 13:02:03 +0100
Message-ID: <CAFEAcA-nihW1nuMOL-XCR_QxUXSXji=noe4eDNPHxkib4-_a6A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1565955445398.83897@bt.com>

On Fri, 16 Aug 2019 at 12:37, <tony.nguyen@bt.com> wrote:
>
> Hi Phillippe,
>
> On 8/16/19 7:58 PM, Philippe Mathieu-Daudé wrote:
> >On 8/16/19 8:28 AM, tony.nguyen@bt.com wrote:
> >> For each device declared with DEVICE_NATIVE_ENDIAN, find the set of
> >> targets from the set of target/hw/*/device.o.
> >>
> >> If the set of targets are all little or all big endian, re-declare
> >> the device endianness as DEVICE_LITTLE_ENDIAN or DEVICE_BIG_ENDIAN
> >> respectively.
> >
> >If only little endian targets use a device, that doesn't mean the device
> >is designed in little endian...
> >
> >Then if a big endian target plan to use this device, it will require
> >more work and you might have introduced regressions...
> >
> >I'm not sure this is a safe move.
> >
> >> This *naive* deduction may result in genuinely native endian devices
> >> being incorrectly declared as little or big endian, but should not
> >> introduce regressions for current targets.
> >
>
> Roger. Evidently too naive. TBH, most devices I've never heard of...

OTOH it's worth noting that it's quite likely that most of
the implementations of these DEVICE_NATIVE_ENDIAN devices
picked it in an equally naive way, by just copying some other
device's code...

thanks
-- PMM


  reply index

Thread overview: 63+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-16  6:28 tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:08 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 01/42] configure: Define TARGET_ALIGNED_ONLY tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:26 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 02/42] tcg: TCGMemOp is now accelerator independent MemOp tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:27 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 03/42] memory: Introduce size_memop tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:27 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 04/42] target/mips: Access MemoryRegion with MemOp tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:28 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 05/42] hw/s390x: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:28 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 06/42] hw/intc/armv7m_nic: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:28 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 07/42] hw/virtio: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:29 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 08/42] hw/vfio: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:29 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 09/42] exec: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:30 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 10/42] cputlb: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:30 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 11/42] memory: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-18 21:44   ` Philippe Mathieu-Daudé
2019-08-16  7:30 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 12/42] hw/s390x: Hard code size with MO_{8|16|32|64} tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:31 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 13/42] target/mips: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:31 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 14/42] exec: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:31 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 15/42] hw/audio: Declare device little or big endian tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:32 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 16/42] hw/block: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:32 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 17/42] hw/char: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:32 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 18/42] hw/display: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:33 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 19/42] hw/dma: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:33 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 20/42] hw/gpio: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:33 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 21/42] hw/i2c: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:33 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 22/42] hw/input: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:34 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 23/42] hw/intc: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:34 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 24/42] hw/isa: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16 10:01   ` Philippe Mathieu-Daudé
2019-08-16  7:34 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 25/42] hw/misc: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16 10:04   ` Philippe Mathieu-Daudé
2019-08-19 18:26     ` Paolo Bonzini
2019-08-16  7:35 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 26/42] hw/net: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:35 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 27/42] hw/pci-host: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16 10:06   ` Philippe Mathieu-Daudé
2019-08-16  7:35 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 28/42] hw/sd: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:35 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 29/42] hw/ssi: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:36 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 30/42] hw/timer: " tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:36 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 31/42] build: Correct non-common common-obj-* to obj-* tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:36 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 32/42] exec: Map device_endian onto MemOp tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:37 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 33/42] exec: Replace device_endian with MemOp tony.nguyen
2019-08-16 10:12   ` [Qemu-devel] [qemu-s390x] " Thomas Huth
2019-08-19 18:28     ` Paolo Bonzini
2019-08-19 18:29       ` Paolo Bonzini
2019-08-19 21:01         ` Richard Henderson
2019-08-20  3:11           ` Edgar E. Iglesias
2019-08-16  7:37 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 34/42] exec: Delete device_endian tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:37 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 35/42] exec: Delete DEVICE_HOST_ENDIAN tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:38 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 36/42] memory: Access MemoryRegion with endianness tony.nguyen
2019-08-18 12:22   ` Richard Henderson
2019-08-16  7:38 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 37/42] cputlb: Replace size and endian operands for MemOp tony.nguyen
2019-08-18 12:37   ` Richard Henderson
2019-08-16  7:38 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 38/42] memory: Single byte swap along the I/O path tony.nguyen
2019-08-18 12:46   ` Richard Henderson
2019-08-16  7:39 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 39/42] cpu: TLB_FLAGS_MASK bit to force memory slow path tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:39 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 40/42] cputlb: Byte swap memory transaction attribute tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:39 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 41/42] target/sparc: Add TLB entry with attributes tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  7:39 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 42/42] target/sparc: sun4u Invert Endian TTE bit tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  8:03 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 33/42] exec: Replace device_endian with MemOp tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  9:33 ` tony.nguyen
2019-08-16  9:58 ` [Qemu-devel] [PATCH v7 00/42] Invert Endian bit in SPARCv9 MMU TTE Philippe Mathieu-Daudé
2019-08-16 11:37   ` tony.nguyen
2019-08-16 12:02     ` Peter Maydell [this message]
2019-08-16 11:43   ` David Gibson
2019-08-18  9:13 ` Richard Henderson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAFEAcA-nihW1nuMOL-XCR_QxUXSXji=noe4eDNPHxkib4-_a6A@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=peter.maydell@linaro.org \
    --cc=Andrew.Baumann@microsoft.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=alistair@alistair23.me \
    --cc=amarkovic@wavecomp.com \
    --cc=andrew.smirnov@gmail.com \
    --cc=andrew@aj.id.au \
    --cc=anthony.perard@citrix.com \
    --cc=antonynpavlov@gmail.com \
    --cc=arikalo@wavecomp.com \
    --cc=atar4qemu@gmail.com \
    --cc=aurelien@aurel32.net \
    --cc=b.galvani@gmail.com \
    --cc=berto@igalia.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=chouteau@adacore.com \
    --cc=claudio.fontana@suse.com \
    --cc=clg@kaod.org \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=crwulff@gmail.com \
    --cc=david@gibson.dropbear.id.au \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=dmitry.fleytman@gmail.com \
    --cc=edgar.iglesias@gmail.com \
    --cc=ehabkost@redhat.com \
    --cc=eric.auger@redhat.com \
    --cc=fam@euphon.net \
    --cc=frederic.konrad@adacore.com \
    --cc=green@moxielogic.com \
    --cc=gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=hare@suse.com \
    --cc=hpoussin@reactos.org \
    --cc=huth@tuxfamily.org \
    --cc=i.mitsyanko@gmail.com \
    --cc=imammedo@redhat.com \
    --cc=jan.kiszka@web.de \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=jcd@tribudubois.net \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=jiri@resnulli.us \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.cz \
    --cc=jsnow@redhat.com \
    --cc=kbastian@mail.uni-paderborn.de \
    --cc=keith.busch@intel.com \
    --cc=kraxel@redhat.com \
    --cc=kwolf@redhat.com \
    --cc=laurent@vivier.eu \
    --cc=lersek@redhat.com \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=marcandre.lureau@redhat.com \
    --cc=marex@denx.de \
    --cc=mark.cave-ayland@ilande.co.uk \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=minyard@acm.org \
    --cc=mreitz@redhat.com \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=palmer@sifive.com \
    --cc=pasic@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=paul.durrant@citrix.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=pburton@wavecomp.com \
    --cc=peter.chubb@nicta.com.au \
    --cc=philmd@redhat.com \
    --cc=proljc@gmail.com \
    --cc=qemu-arm@nongnu.org \
    --cc=qemu-block@nongnu.org \
    --cc=qemu-devel@nongnu.org \
    --cc=qemu-ppc@nongnu.org \
    --cc=qemu-riscv@nongnu.org \
    --cc=qemu-s390x@nongnu.org \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=rth@twiddle.net \
    --cc=sagark@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=stefanb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=stefanha@redhat.com \
    --cc=sundeep.lkml@gmail.com \
    --cc=sw@weilnetz.de \
    --cc=tony.nguyen@bt.com \
    --cc=walling@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --cc=xiaoguangrong.eric@gmail.com \
    --cc=yuval.shaia@oracle.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

QEMU-Devel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/qemu-devel/0 qemu-devel/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/qemu-devel/1 qemu-devel/git/1.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 qemu-devel qemu-devel/ https://lore.kernel.org/qemu-devel \
		qemu-devel@nongnu.org
	public-inbox-index qemu-devel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.nongnu.qemu-devel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git