RCU Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Federico Vaga <federico.vaga@vaga.pv.it>
To: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Robert Richter <rric@kernel.org>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Harry Wei <harryxiyou@gmail.com>,
	Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>,
	oprofile-list@lists.sf.net, William Cohen <wcohen@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	anmar.oueja@linaro.org, Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	rcu@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 17/18] drivers: Remove CONFIG_OPROFILE support
Date: Fri, 15 Jan 2021 18:10:26 +0100
Message-ID: <399fd39170e14b6113c2c6f465d7ba2d@vaga.pv.it> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <08ecfc3e3fe1a01ad1e360e4afb7ffc8666a2676.1610622251.git.viresh.kumar@linaro.org>

On 2021-01-14 12:35, Viresh Kumar wrote:
> The "oprofile" user-space tools don't use the kernel OPROFILE support
> any more, and haven't in a long time. User-space has been converted to
> the perf interfaces.
> 
> Remove kernel's old oprofile support.
> 
> Suggested-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
> Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Signed-off-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
> ---
>  Documentation/RCU/NMI-RCU.rst                 |   3 +-
>  .../admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt         |  14 -
>  Documentation/process/magic-number.rst        |   1 -
>  .../it_IT/process/magic-number.rst            |   1 -

Of course that's OK for the italian transation

-- 
Federico Vaga

      parent reply index

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <cover.1610622251.git.viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
2021-01-14 11:35 ` Viresh Kumar
2021-01-14 15:06   ` Paul E. McKenney
2021-01-15 17:10   ` Federico Vaga [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=399fd39170e14b6113c2c6f465d7ba2d@vaga.pv.it \
    --to=federico.vaga@vaga.pv.it \
    --cc=alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com \
    --cc=anmar.oueja@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=harryxiyou@gmail.com \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=jiangshanlai@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=oprofile-list@lists.sf.net \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=rcu@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=wcohen@redhat.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

RCU Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/rcu/0 rcu/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 rcu rcu/ https://lore.kernel.org/rcu \
		rcu@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index rcu

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.rcu


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git