RCU Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Lukas Bulwahn <lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com>
To: Uladzislau Rezki <urezki@gmail.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	rcu@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "linux-doc@vger.kernel.org" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>
Subject: kerneldoc warnings since commit 538fc2ee870a3 ("rcu: Introduce kfree_rcu() single-argument macro")
Date: Tue, 5 Jan 2021 08:32:18 +0100
Message-ID: <CAKXUXMygqbupE_6CK92=PwLw4DjnSuo9-+6iHs_DrZeZ55iRKg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)

Dear Uladzislau,

in commit 538fc2ee870a3 ("rcu: Introduce kfree_rcu() single-argument
macro"), you have refactored the kfree_rcu macro.

Since then, make htmldocs warns:

./include/linux/rcupdate.h:882: warning: Excess function parameter
'ptr' description in 'kfree_rcu'
./include/linux/rcupdate.h:882: warning: Excess function parameter
'rhf' description in 'kfree_rcu'

As you deleted the two arguments in the macro definition, kerneldoc
cannot resolve the argument names in the macro's kerneldoc
documentation anymore and warns about that.

Probably, it is best to just turn the formal kerneldoc references to
the two arguments, which are not used in the macro definition anymore,
simply into two informal references in the documentation.

Best regards,

Lukas

             reply index

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-05  7:32 Lukas Bulwahn [this message]
2021-01-05 13:14 ` Uladzislau Rezki
2021-01-05 14:03   ` Lukas Bulwahn
2021-01-05 14:56   ` Paul E. McKenney
2021-01-05 16:29     ` Uladzislau Rezki
2021-01-07  7:28       ` Lukas Bulwahn
2021-01-07 13:00         ` Uladzislau Rezki

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAKXUXMygqbupE_6CK92=PwLw4DjnSuo9-+6iHs_DrZeZ55iRKg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com \
    --cc=jiangshanlai@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=rcu@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=urezki@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

RCU Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/rcu/0 rcu/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 rcu rcu/ https://lore.kernel.org/rcu \
		rcu@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index rcu

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.rcu


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git