rust-for-linux.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
To: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: "Wedson Almeida Filho" <wedsonaf@gmail.com>,
	rust-for-linux@vger.kernel.org, "Miguel Ojeda" <ojeda@kernel.org>,
	"Alex Gaynor" <alex.gaynor@gmail.com>,
	"Gary Guo" <gary@garyguo.net>,
	"Björn Roy Baron" <bjorn3_gh@protonmail.com>,
	"Benno Lossin" <benno.lossin@proton.me>,
	"Andreas Hindborg" <a.hindborg@samsung.com>,
	"Alice Ryhl" <aliceryhl@google.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Wedson Almeida Filho" <walmeida@microsoft.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 07/10] rust: alloc: update `VecExt` to take allocation flags
Date: Wed, 27 Mar 2024 11:49:41 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CANiq72=0Q2KJ_Rmnsa596fRA0E3tE4cZtG7W7DHU94=nWLMoSg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <ZgOXGSDmIgrENB7d@Boquns-Mac-mini.home>

On Wed, Mar 27, 2024 at 4:48 AM Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> /me likes this! ;-) Too bad `write_slice_cloned()` is not stablized:
>
>         https://doc.rust-lang.org/core/mem/union.MaybeUninit.html#method.write_slice_cloned

For future reference, it will be called `clone_from_slice` soon (1.78):

    https://doc.rust-lang.org/beta/core/mem/union.MaybeUninit.html#method.clone_from_slice
    https://github.com/rust-lang/rust/issues/79995

This could be a "good first issue", i.e. to replace these if these get
stabilized (which seems likely).

Though that one has to account for panics -- it would be good to check
codegen if we do replace it.

Cheers,
Miguel

  reply	other threads:[~2024-03-27 10:50 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2024-03-27  2:35 [PATCH v2 00/10] Allocation APIs Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 01/10] rust: kernel: move `allocator` module under `alloc` Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 02/10] rust: alloc: introduce the `VecExt` trait Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27 16:45   ` Benno Lossin
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 03/10] kbuild: use the upstream `alloc` crate Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 04/10] rust: alloc: remove our fork of the " Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 05/10] rust: alloc: introduce allocation flags Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 06/10] rust: alloc: introduce the `BoxExt` trait Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27 17:09   ` Benno Lossin
2024-03-27 18:43     ` Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 07/10] rust: alloc: update `VecExt` to take allocation flags Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  3:48   ` Boqun Feng
2024-03-27 10:49     ` Miguel Ojeda [this message]
2024-03-27 18:19     ` Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 08/10] rust: sync: update `Arc` and `UniqueArc` " Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 09/10] rust: init: update `init` module " Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27  2:35 ` [PATCH v2 10/10] rust: kernel: remove usage of `allocator_api` unstable feature Wedson Almeida Filho
2024-03-27 17:19   ` Benno Lossin

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CANiq72=0Q2KJ_Rmnsa596fRA0E3tE4cZtG7W7DHU94=nWLMoSg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com \
    --cc=a.hindborg@samsung.com \
    --cc=alex.gaynor@gmail.com \
    --cc=aliceryhl@google.com \
    --cc=benno.lossin@proton.me \
    --cc=bjorn3_gh@protonmail.com \
    --cc=boqun.feng@gmail.com \
    --cc=gary@garyguo.net \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ojeda@kernel.org \
    --cc=rust-for-linux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=walmeida@microsoft.com \
    --cc=wedsonaf@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).