u-boot.lists.denx.de archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org>
To: Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>
Cc: "Tom Rini" <trini@konsulko.com>,
	"Mark Kettenis" <mark.kettenis@xs4all.nl>,
	"Bharat Gooty" <bharat.gooty@broadcom.com>,
	"Rayagonda Kokatanur" <rayagonda.kokatanur@broadcom.com>,
	"Rick Chen" <rick@andestech.com>, Leo <ycliang@andestech.com>,
	"Thomas Fitzsimmons" <fitzsim@fitzsim.org>,
	"Bin Meng" <bmeng.cn@gmail.com>,
	"Marek Behún" <marek.behun@nic.cz>,
	"Green Wan" <green.wan@sifive.com>,
	"Brad Kim" <brad.kim@semifive.com>,
	"Heinrich Schuchardt" <xypron.glpk@gmx.de>,
	"David Abdurachmanov" <david.abdurachmanov@sifive.com>,
	"Dimitri John Ledkov" <dimitri.ledkov@canonical.com>,
	"U-Boot Mailing List" <u-boot@lists.denx.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3 v3] riscv: Remove OF_PRIOR_STAGE from RISC-V boards
Date: Mon, 11 Oct 2021 13:20:47 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAPnjgZ2ayUPfDuydQhe9NORD062wo=vjBZ5VzMX8rh80YjZrOA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210930071800.443059-1-ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>

Hi Ilias,

On Thu, 30 Sept 2021 at 01:18, Ilias Apalodimas
<ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org> wrote:
>
> At some point back in 2018 prior_stage_fdt_address and OF_PRIOR_STAGE got
> introduced,  in order to support a DTB handed over by an earlier stage boot
> loader.  However we have another option in the Kconfig (OF_BOARD) which has
> identical semantics.
>
> On RISC-V some of the platforms pick up the DTB from a1 and copy it in their
> private gd_t.  Apart from that they copy it to prior_stage_fdt_address,  if
> the Kconfig option is selected, which is unnecessary.
>
> So let's switch the config option for those boards to OF_BOARD and define
> the required board_fdt_blob_setup() for them.
>
> Signed-off-by: Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>
> Reviewed-by: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org>
> ---
> Changes since v2:
> - Adjusted board_fdt_blob_setup() for ax25-ae350 to cover OF_BOARD cases
> Changes since v1:
> - Remove the sifive unleashed/unmatched changes,  since they'll be handled
>  arch/riscv/cpu/cpu.c                    | 3 ---
>  arch/riscv/cpu/start.S                  | 5 -----
>  arch/riscv/dts/binman.dtsi              | 6 +++---
>  board/AndesTech/ax25-ae350/ax25-ae350.c | 7 ++++++-
>  board/emulation/qemu-riscv/qemu-riscv.c | 9 +++++++++
>  configs/ae350_rv32_defconfig            | 2 +-
>  configs/ae350_rv32_spl_defconfig        | 2 +-
>  configs/ae350_rv64_defconfig            | 2 +-
>  configs/ae350_rv64_spl_defconfig        | 2 +-
>  configs/qemu-riscv32_defconfig          | 2 +-
>  configs/qemu-riscv32_smode_defconfig    | 2 +-
>  configs/qemu-riscv32_spl_defconfig      | 2 +-
>  configs/qemu-riscv64_defconfig          | 2 +-
>  configs/qemu-riscv64_smode_defconfig    | 2 +-
>  configs/qemu-riscv64_spl_defconfig      | 2 +-
>  dts/Kconfig                             | 2 +-
>  16 files changed, 29 insertions(+), 23 deletions(-)
>

Reviewed-by: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org>

But please drop the extra blank line at the end of qemu-riscv.c and
wrap the commit message to 75 chars. Do you use patman to check/send
patches?

[..]

Regards,
Simon

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-10-11 19:21 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-30  7:17 Ilias Apalodimas
2021-09-30  7:17 ` [PATCH 2/3 v3] board: arm: Remove OF_PRIOR_STAGE from the remaining Arm boards Ilias Apalodimas
2021-09-30  7:17 ` [PATCH 3/3] treewide: Remove OF_PRIOR_STAGE Ilias Apalodimas
2021-10-11 19:20 ` Simon Glass [this message]
2021-10-11 20:17 ` [PATCH 1/3 v3] riscv: Remove OF_PRIOR_STAGE from RISC-V boards Simon Glass
2021-10-11 20:22   ` Ilias Apalodimas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAPnjgZ2ayUPfDuydQhe9NORD062wo=vjBZ5VzMX8rh80YjZrOA@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=sjg@chromium.org \
    --cc=bharat.gooty@broadcom.com \
    --cc=bmeng.cn@gmail.com \
    --cc=brad.kim@semifive.com \
    --cc=david.abdurachmanov@sifive.com \
    --cc=dimitri.ledkov@canonical.com \
    --cc=fitzsim@fitzsim.org \
    --cc=green.wan@sifive.com \
    --cc=ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org \
    --cc=marek.behun@nic.cz \
    --cc=mark.kettenis@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=rayagonda.kokatanur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=rick@andestech.com \
    --cc=trini@konsulko.com \
    --cc=u-boot@lists.denx.de \
    --cc=xypron.glpk@gmx.de \
    --cc=ycliang@andestech.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/3 v3] riscv: Remove OF_PRIOR_STAGE from RISC-V boards' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).