All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@chromium.org>
To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Mathias Nyman <mathias.nyman@intel.com>,
	Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org, "Peter Chen" <peter.chen@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	"Bastien Nocera" <hadess@hadess.net>,
	"Ravi Chandra Sadineni" <ravisadineni@chromium.org>,
	"Michal Simek" <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	"Douglas Anderson" <dianders@chromium.org>,
	"Roger Quadros" <rogerq@kernel.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzk@kernel.org>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	"Matthias Kaehlcke" <mka@chromium.org>,
	"Al Cooper" <alcooperx@gmail.com>,
	"Al Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Alexandre Torgue" <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	"Andrew Lunn" <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	"Andrey Zhizhikin" <andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com>,
	"Andy Gross" <agross@kernel.org>, "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Aswath Govindraju" <a-govindraju@ti.com>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Dmitry Baryshkov" <dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>,
	"Dmitry Osipenko" <digetx@gmail.com>,
	"Dong Aisheng" <aisheng.dong@nxp.com>,
	"Enric Balletbo i Serra" <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"Fabrice Gasnier" <fabrice.gasnier@st.com>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Gregory Clement" <gregory.clement@bootlin.com>,
	"Grygorii Strashko" <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	"Guido Günther" <agx@sigxcpu.org>,
	"Jagan Teki" <jagan@amarulasolutions.com>,
	"Jens Axboe" <axboe@kernel.dk>, "Johan Hovold" <johan@kernel.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>,
	"Lad Prabhakar" <prabhakar.mahadev-lad.rj@bp.renesas.com>,
	"Lionel Debieve" <lionel.debieve@st.com>,
	"Manivannan Sadhasivam" <mani@kernel.org>,
	"Marek Szyprowski" <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Martin Jücker" <martin.juecker@gmail.com>,
	"Nishanth Menon" <nm@ti.com>,
	"Olivier Moysan" <olivier.moysan@st.com>,
	"Pawel Laszczak" <pawell@cadence.com>,
	"Robert Richter" <rric@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Sebastian Hesselbarth" <sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Tony Lindgren" <tony@atomide.com>,
	"Vinod Koul" <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	"Viresh Kumar" <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	"Will Deacon" <will@kernel.org>,
	"William Cohen" <wcohen@redhat.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	"Łukasz Stelmach" <l.stelmach@samsung.com>
Subject: [PATCH v16 0/7] usb: misc: Add onboard_usb_hub driver
Date: Fri, 13 Aug 2021 12:52:21 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210813195228.2003500-1-mka@chromium.org> (raw)

This series adds:
- the onboard_usb_hub_driver
- glue in the xhci-plat driver to create and destroy the
  onboard_usb_hub platform devices if needed
- a device tree binding for the Realtek RTS5411 USB hub controller
- device tree changes that add RTS5411 entries for the QCA SC7180
  based boards trogdor and lazor
- a couple of stubs for platform device functions to avoid
  unresolved symbols with certain kernel configs

The main issue the driver addresses is that a USB hub needs to be
powered before it can be discovered. For discrete onboard hubs (an
example for such a hub is the Realtek RTS5411) this is often solved
by supplying the hub with an 'always-on' regulator, which is kind
of a hack. Some onboard hubs may require further initialization
steps, like changing the state of a GPIO or enabling a clock, which
requires even more hacks. This driver creates a platform device
representing the hub which performs the necessary initialization.
Currently it only supports switching on a single regulator, support
for multiple regulators or other actions can be added as needed.
Different initialization sequences can be supported based on the
compatible string.

Besides performing the initialization the driver can be configured
to power the hub off during system suspend. This can help to extend
battery life on battery powered devices which have no requirements
to keep the hub powered during suspend. The driver can also be
configured to leave the hub powered when a wakeup capable USB device
is connected when suspending, and power it off otherwise.

Changes in v16:
- added patch 'ARM: configs: Explicitly enable USB_XHCI_PLATFORM
  where needed' to keep arm32 defconfigs effectively unchanged

Changes in v15:
- adjusted dependencies of USB_DWC3_CORE to make sure it can only
  be enabled when at least one of USB_DWC3_HOST, USB_DWC3_GADGET
  or USB_DWC3_DUAL_ROLE is selectable

Changes in v14:
- rebased on top of v5.14-rc1
- dropped DT binding patch which landed in v5.13

Changes in v13:
- added patch "usb: Specify dependency on USB_XHCI_PLATFORM with
  'depends on'" to the series to avoid Kconfig conflicts
- added patch "arm64: defconfig: Explicitly enable USB_XHCI_PLATFORM"
  to the series to keep effective defconfig unchanged

Changes in v12:
- onboard_hub driver: use IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_USB_ONBOARD_HUB_MODULE)
  in onboard_hub.h to also check for the driver built as module
- onboard_hub_driver: include onboard_hub.h again to make sure there
  are prototype declarations for the public functions

Changes in v11:
- support multiple onboard hubs connected to the same parent
- don't include ‘onboard_hub.h’ from the onboard hub driver

Changes in v10:
- always use of_is_onboard_usb_hub() stub unless ONBOARD_USB_HUB=y/m
- keep 'regulator-boot-on' property for pp3300_hub

Changes in v9:
- added dependency on ONBOARD_USB_HUB (or !!ONBOARD_USB_HUB) to
  USB_PLATFORM_XHCI

Changes in v7:
- updated DT binding
- series rebased on qcom/arm64-for-5.13

Changes in v6:
- updated summary

Changes in v5:
- cover letter added

Matthias Kaehlcke (7):
  usb: misc: Add onboard_usb_hub driver
  of/platform: Add stubs for of_platform_device_create/destroy()
  ARM: configs: Explicitly enable USB_XHCI_PLATFORM where needed
  arm64: defconfig: Explicitly enable USB_XHCI_PLATFORM
  usb: Specify dependencies on USB_XHCI_PLATFORM with 'depends on'
  usb: host: xhci-plat: Create platform device for onboard hubs in
    probe()
  arm64: dts: qcom: sc7180-trogdor: Add nodes for onboard USB hub

 .../sysfs-bus-platform-onboard-usb-hub        |   8 +
 MAINTAINERS                                   |   7 +
 arch/arm/configs/exynos_defconfig             |   1 +
 arch/arm/configs/keystone_defconfig           |   1 +
 arch/arm/configs/multi_v7_defconfig           |   1 +
 arch/arm/configs/mvebu_v7_defconfig           |   1 +
 arch/arm/configs/omap2plus_defconfig          |   1 +
 arch/arm/configs/pxa_defconfig                |   1 +
 .../boot/dts/qcom/sc7180-trogdor-lazor-r0.dts |  19 +-
 .../boot/dts/qcom/sc7180-trogdor-lazor-r1.dts |  12 +-
 .../arm64/boot/dts/qcom/sc7180-trogdor-r1.dts |  19 +-
 arch/arm64/boot/dts/qcom/sc7180-trogdor.dtsi  |  19 +-
 arch/arm64/configs/defconfig                  |   1 +
 drivers/usb/cdns3/Kconfig                     |   2 +-
 drivers/usb/dwc3/Kconfig                      |   5 +-
 drivers/usb/host/Kconfig                      |   5 +-
 drivers/usb/host/xhci-plat.c                  |   6 +
 drivers/usb/host/xhci.h                       |   2 +
 drivers/usb/misc/Kconfig                      |  17 +
 drivers/usb/misc/Makefile                     |   1 +
 drivers/usb/misc/onboard_usb_hub.c            | 497 ++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/of_platform.h                   |  22 +-
 include/linux/usb/onboard_hub.h               |  18 +
 23 files changed, 627 insertions(+), 39 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-bus-platform-onboard-usb-hub
 create mode 100644 drivers/usb/misc/onboard_usb_hub.c
 create mode 100644 include/linux/usb/onboard_hub.h

-- 
2.33.0.rc1.237.g0d66db33f3-goog


             reply	other threads:[~2021-08-13 19:52 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 34+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-13 19:52 Matthias Kaehlcke [this message]
2021-08-13 19:52 ` [PATCH v16 1/7] " Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-11-11 23:31   ` Doug Anderson
2021-11-16  2:08     ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-13 19:52 ` [PATCH v16 2/7] of/platform: Add stubs for of_platform_device_create/destroy() Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-13 19:52 ` [PATCH v16 3/7] ARM: configs: Explicitly enable USB_XHCI_PLATFORM where needed Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-26  6:45   ` Roger Quadros
2021-08-26  7:56   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-08-13 19:52 ` [PATCH v16 4/7] arm64: defconfig: Explicitly enable USB_XHCI_PLATFORM Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-13 19:52   ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-26  6:46   ` Roger Quadros
2021-08-26  6:46     ` Roger Quadros
2021-08-13 19:52 ` [PATCH v16 5/7] usb: Specify dependencies on USB_XHCI_PLATFORM with 'depends on' Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-13 19:52   ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-26  6:46   ` Roger Quadros
2021-08-26  6:46     ` Roger Quadros
2021-11-11 23:48   ` Doug Anderson
2021-11-11 23:48     ` Doug Anderson
2021-11-16 18:07     ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-11-16 18:07       ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-08-13 19:52 ` [PATCH v16 6/7] usb: host: xhci-plat: Create platform device for onboard hubs in probe() Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-10-20 13:05   ` Mathias Nyman
2021-10-20 20:27     ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-10-20 20:37       ` Alan Stern
2021-10-20 21:01         ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-10-20 21:57           ` Alan Stern
2021-08-13 19:52 ` [PATCH v16 7/7] arm64: dts: qcom: sc7180-trogdor: Add nodes for onboard USB hub Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-09-21 17:08 ` [PATCH v16 0/7] usb: misc: Add onboard_usb_hub driver Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-10-14 21:38   ` Doug Anderson
2021-10-15  6:39     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2021-10-19 16:04       ` Fabrice Gasnier
2021-10-19 22:10         ` Matthias Kaehlcke
2021-10-20  6:21         ` Michal Simek
2021-10-20 17:41           ` Matthias Kaehlcke

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210813195228.2003500-1-mka@chromium.org \
    --to=mka@chromium.org \
    --cc=a-govindraju@ti.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=agx@sigxcpu.org \
    --cc=aisheng.dong@nxp.com \
    --cc=alcooperx@gmail.com \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=digetx@gmail.com \
    --cc=dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org \
    --cc=enric.balletbo@collabora.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=fabrice.gasnier@st.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gregory.clement@bootlin.com \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=hadess@hadess.net \
    --cc=jagan@amarulasolutions.com \
    --cc=johan@kernel.org \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=l.stelmach@samsung.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lionel.debieve@st.com \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=mani@kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.juecker@gmail.com \
    --cc=mathias.nyman@intel.com \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=nm@ti.com \
    --cc=olivier.moysan@st.com \
    --cc=pawell@cadence.com \
    --cc=peter.chen@kernel.org \
    --cc=prabhakar.mahadev-lad.rj@bp.renesas.com \
    --cc=ravisadineni@chromium.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rogerq@kernel.org \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tony@atomide.com \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=wcohen@redhat.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v16 0/7] usb: misc: Add onboard_usb_hub driver' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.