Alsa-Devel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl>
To: "Andy Shevchenko" <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	"Sumit Semwal" <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>,
	"Gustavo Padovan" <gustavo@padovan.org>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>,
	"Tony Luck" <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	"James Morse" <james.morse@arm.com>,
	"Robert Richter" <rric@kernel.org>,
	"Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Zimmermann" <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"Michael S . Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Jason Wang" <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	"Christoph Lameter" <cl@linux.com>,
	"Pekka Enberg" <penberg@kernel.org>,
	"David Rientjes" <rientjes@google.com>,
	"Joonsoo Kim" <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Jaroslav Kysela" <perex@perex.cz>,
	"Takashi Iwai" <tiwai@suse.com>
Cc: alsa-devel@alsa-project.org, kvm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org, linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-edac@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 0/8] slab: provide and use krealloc_array()
Date: Tue, 27 Oct 2020 13:17:17 +0100
Message-ID: <20201027121725.24660-1-brgl@bgdev.pl> (raw)

From: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>

Andy brought to my attention the fact that users allocating an array of
equally sized elements should check if the size multiplication doesn't
overflow. This is why we have helpers like kmalloc_array().

However we don't have krealloc_array() equivalent and there are many
users who do their own multiplication when calling krealloc() for arrays.

This series provides krealloc_array() and uses it in a couple places.

A separate series will follow adding devm_krealloc_array() which is
needed in the xilinx adc driver.

Bartosz Golaszewski (8):
  mm: slab: provide krealloc_array()
  ALSA: pcm: use krealloc_array()
  vhost: vringh: use krealloc_array()
  pinctrl: use krealloc_array()
  edac: ghes: use krealloc_array()
  drm: atomic: use krealloc_array()
  hwtracing: intel: use krealloc_array()
  dma-buf: use krealloc_array()

 drivers/dma-buf/sync_file.c      |  4 ++--
 drivers/edac/ghes_edac.c         |  4 ++--
 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_atomic.c     |  3 ++-
 drivers/hwtracing/intel_th/msu.c |  2 +-
 drivers/pinctrl/pinctrl-utils.c  |  2 +-
 drivers/vhost/vringh.c           |  3 ++-
 include/linux/slab.h             | 11 +++++++++++
 sound/core/pcm_lib.c             |  4 ++--
 8 files changed, 23 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

-- 
2.29.1


             reply index

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-10-27 12:17 Bartosz Golaszewski [this message]
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 1/8] mm: slab: provide krealloc_array() Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 18:20   ` Vlastimil Babka
2020-10-28  8:47   ` Mike Rapoport
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 2/8] ALSA: pcm: use krealloc_array() Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 12:39   ` Takashi Iwai
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 3/8] vhost: vringh: " Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 15:28   ` Michael S. Tsirkin
2020-10-27 16:50     ` Joe Perches
2020-10-27 16:58       ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 17:08         ` Joe Perches
2020-10-27 18:00           ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 4/8] pinctrl: " Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 5/8] edac: ghes: " Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 18:25   ` Borislav Petkov
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 6/8] drm: atomic: " Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 19:19   ` Daniel Vetter
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 7/8] hwtracing: intel: " Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 12:17 ` [PATCH 8/8] dma-buf: " Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-10-27 12:21   ` Christian König
2020-11-05 10:52 ` [PATCH 0/8] slab: provide and " Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20201027121725.24660-1-brgl@bgdev.pl \
    --to=brgl@bgdev.pl \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=cl@linux.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=gustavo@padovan.org \
    --cc=iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-edac@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=penberg@kernel.org \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=sumit.semwal@linaro.org \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Alsa-Devel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/alsa-devel/0 alsa-devel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 alsa-devel alsa-devel/ https://lore.kernel.org/alsa-devel \
		alsa-devel@alsa-project.org
	public-inbox-index alsa-devel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.alsa-project.alsa-devel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git