DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
To: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	"John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>,
	Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye@intel.com>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Igor Russkikh <igor.russkikh@aquantia.com>,
	Pavel Belous <pavel.belous@aquantia.com>,
	Allain Legacy <allain.legacy@windriver.com>,
	Matt Peters <matt.peters@windriver.com>,
	Ravi Kumar <ravi1.kumar@amd.com>, Rasesh Mody <rmody@marvell.com>,
	Shahed Shaikh <shshaikh@marvell.com>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Chas Williams <chas3@att.com>,
	Rahul Lakkireddy <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@nxp.com>,
	Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com>,
	Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>,
	John Daley <johndale@cisco.com>,
	Hyong Youb Kim <hyonkim@cisco.com>,
	Gaetan Rivet <gaetan.rivet@6wind.com>,
	Xiao Wang <xiao.w.wang@intel.com>,
	Ziyang Xuan <xuanziyang2@huawei.com>,
	Xiaoyun Wang <cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com>,
	Guoyang Zhou <zhouguoyang@huawei.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	Jingjing Wu <jingjing.wu@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Rosen Xu <rosen.xu@intel.com>,
	Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>,
	Shijith Thotton <sthotton@marvell.com>,
	Srisivasubramanian Srinivasan <srinivasan@marvell.com>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>,
	Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>,
	Zyta Szpak <zr@semihalf.com>, Liron Himi <lironh@marvell.com>,
	Tomasz Duszynski <tdu@semihalf.com>,
	Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	Rastislav Cernay <cernay@netcope.com>,
	Jan Remes <remes@netcope.com>,
	Alejandro Lucero <alejandro.lucero@netronome.com>,
	Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Nithin Dabilpuram <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>,
	Kiran Kumar K <kirankumark@marvell.com>,
	Keith Wiles <keith.wiles@intel.com>,
	Maciej Czekaj <mczekaj@marvell.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>,
	Tiwei Bie <tiwei.bie@intel.com>,
	Zhihong Wang <zhihong.wang@intel.com>,
	Yong Wang <yongwang@vmware.com>,
	Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
Cc: dev@dpdk.org
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 04/13] ethdev: change promiscuous callbacks to return status
Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2019 16:39:45 +0100
Message-ID: <5093c27d-4251-e997-f4bb-d1f56a60443a@intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1568030331-16526-5-git-send-email-arybchenko@solarflare.com>

On 9/9/2019 12:58 PM, Andrew Rybchenko wrote:
> Enabling/disabling of promiscuous mode is not always successful and
> it should be taken into account to be able to handle it properly.
> 
> When correct return status is unclear from driver code, -EAGAIN is used.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>

<...>

> diff --git a/drivers/net/tap/rte_eth_tap.c b/drivers/net/tap/rte_eth_tap.c
> index f85458c3cd..41612ce838 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/tap/rte_eth_tap.c
> +++ b/drivers/net/tap/rte_eth_tap.c
> @@ -1100,28 +1100,60 @@ tap_link_update(struct rte_eth_dev *dev, int wait_to_complete __rte_unused)
>  	return 0;
>  }
>  
> -static void
> +static int
>  tap_promisc_enable(struct rte_eth_dev *dev)
>  {
>  	struct pmd_internals *pmd = dev->data->dev_private;
>  	struct ifreq ifr = { .ifr_flags = IFF_PROMISC };
> +	int ret;
>  
> -	dev->data->promiscuous = 1;
> -	tap_ioctl(pmd, SIOCSIFFLAGS, &ifr, 1, LOCAL_AND_REMOTE);
> -	if (pmd->remote_if_index && !pmd->flow_isolate)
> -		tap_flow_implicit_create(pmd, TAP_REMOTE_PROMISC);
> +	ret = tap_ioctl(pmd, SIOCSIFFLAGS, &ifr, 1, LOCAL_AND_REMOTE);
> +	if (ret != 0)
> +		return ret;
> +
> +	if (pmd->remote_if_index && !pmd->flow_isolate) {
> +		dev->data->promiscuous = 1;

I think PMD shouldn't be setting this variable, it is already set by the API.
I quickly checked if an internal function requires this but it looks like it has
been set by mistake, I think we can remove this.

> +		ret = tap_flow_implicit_create(pmd, TAP_REMOTE_PROMISC);
> +		if (ret != 0) {
> +			/* Rollback promisc flag */
> +			tap_ioctl(pmd, SIOCSIFFLAGS, &ifr, 0, LOCAL_AND_REMOTE);
> +			/*
> +			 * rte_eth_dev_promiscuous_enable() rollback
> +			 * dev->data->promiscuous in the case of failure.
> +			 */
> +			return ret;
> +		}
> +	}
> +
> +	return 0;
>  }
>  
> -static void
> +static int
>  tap_promisc_disable(struct rte_eth_dev *dev)
>  {
>  	struct pmd_internals *pmd = dev->data->dev_private;
>  	struct ifreq ifr = { .ifr_flags = IFF_PROMISC };
> +	int ret;
>  
> -	dev->data->promiscuous = 0;
> -	tap_ioctl(pmd, SIOCSIFFLAGS, &ifr, 0, LOCAL_AND_REMOTE);
> -	if (pmd->remote_if_index && !pmd->flow_isolate)
> -		tap_flow_implicit_destroy(pmd, TAP_REMOTE_PROMISC);
> +	ret = tap_ioctl(pmd, SIOCSIFFLAGS, &ifr, 0, LOCAL_AND_REMOTE);
> +	if (ret != 0)
> +		return ret;
> +
> +	if (pmd->remote_if_index && !pmd->flow_isolate) {
> +		dev->data->promiscuous = 0;

Ditto

> +		ret = tap_flow_implicit_destroy(pmd, TAP_REMOTE_PROMISC);
> +		if (ret != 0) {
> +			/* Rollback promisc flag */
> +			tap_ioctl(pmd, SIOCSIFFLAGS, &ifr, 1, LOCAL_AND_REMOTE);
> +			/*
> +			 * rte_eth_dev_promiscuous_disable() rollback
> +			 * dev->data->promiscuous in the case of failure.
> +			 */
> +			return ret;
> +		}
> +	}
> +
> +	return 0;
>  }

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 77+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-05 16:10 [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 00/13] ethdev: change promiscuous mode functions " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 01/13] ethdev: change promiscuous mode controllers to return errors Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 02/13] net/failsafe: check code of promiscuous mode switch Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:25   ` Gaëtan Rivet
2019-09-05 16:32     ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:36   ` Stephen Hemminger
2019-09-05 16:38     ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-06  9:24       ` Gaëtan Rivet
2019-09-06 10:08         ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:40   ` Stephen Hemminger
2019-09-05 16:49     ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 17:13       ` Stephen Hemminger
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 03/13] net/bonding: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 04/13] ethdev: change promiscuous callbacks to return status Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 05/13] ethdev: do nothing if promiscuous mode is applied again Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 06/13] app/pipeline: check code of promiscuous mode switch Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 07/13] app/testpmd: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 08/13] app/eventdev: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 09/13] app/pdump: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 10/13] app/test: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 11/13] kni: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 12/13] test/bonding: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-05 16:10 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 13/13] examples: take promiscuous mode switch result into account Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 00/13] ethdev: change promiscuous mode functions to return status Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 01/13] ethdev: change promiscuous mode controllers to return errors Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-13 15:35     ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 02/13] net/failsafe: check code of promiscuous mode switch Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 12:48     ` Gaëtan Rivet
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 03/13] net/bonding: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 04/13] ethdev: change promiscuous callbacks to return status Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-10  7:53     ` Matan Azrad
2019-09-13 21:05       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-11  8:46     ` Hyong Youb Kim (hyonkim)
2019-09-13 21:06       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-16  6:48         ` Hyong Youb Kim (hyonkim)
2019-09-13 15:34     ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-13 15:54       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-13 16:33         ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-13 15:39     ` Ferruh Yigit [this message]
2019-09-13 16:05       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-13 16:34         ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-13 19:57           ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-16 13:22             ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-16 15:45               ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-16 15:58                 ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-13 16:43     ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-13 20:33       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-13 16:56     ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-13 20:38       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 05/13] ethdev: do nothing if promiscuous mode is applied again Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 06/13] app/pipeline: check code of promiscuous mode switch Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 07/13] app/testpmd: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 08/13] app/eventdev: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 09/13] app/pdump: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 10/13] app/test: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 11/13] kni: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 12/13] test/bonding: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-09 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 13/13] examples: take promiscuous mode switch result into account Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-13 16:40     ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-13 18:30       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-13 16:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 00/13] ethdev: change promiscuous mode functions to return status Ferruh Yigit
2019-09-14 11:37 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 01/13] ethdev: change promiscuous mode controllers to return errors Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 02/13] net/failsafe: check code of promiscuous mode switch Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 03/13] net/bonding: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 04/13] ethdev: change promiscuous callbacks to return status Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 05/13] ethdev: do nothing if promiscuous mode is applied again Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 06/13] app/pipeline: check code of promiscuous mode switch Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 07/13] app/testpmd: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-16 13:18     ` Iremonger, Bernard
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 08/13] app/eventdev: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 09/13] app/pdump: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 10/13] app/test: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 11/13] kni: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 12/13] test/bonding: " Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-14 11:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 13/13] examples: take promiscuous mode switch result into account Andrew Rybchenko
2019-09-24  7:31   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 00/13] ethdev: change promiscuous mode functions to return status Ferruh Yigit

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=5093c27d-4251-e997-f4bb-d1f56a60443a@intel.com \
    --to=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=alejandro.lucero@netronome.com \
    --cc=allain.legacy@windriver.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=cernay@netcope.com \
    --cc=chas3@att.com \
    --cc=cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=g.singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=gaetan.rivet@6wind.com \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=hyonkim@cisco.com \
    --cc=igor.russkikh@aquantia.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jingjing.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=johndale@cisco.com \
    --cc=keith.wiles@intel.com \
    --cc=kirankumark@marvell.com \
    --cc=konstantin.ananyev@intel.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=linville@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=lironh@marvell.com \
    --cc=matan@mellanox.com \
    --cc=matt.peters@windriver.com \
    --cc=maxime.coquelin@redhat.com \
    --cc=mczekaj@marvell.com \
    --cc=ndabilpuram@marvell.com \
    --cc=pavel.belous@aquantia.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com \
    --cc=ravi1.kumar@amd.com \
    --cc=remes@netcope.com \
    --cc=rmody@marvell.com \
    --cc=rosen.xu@intel.com \
    --cc=sachin.saxena@nxp.com \
    --cc=shahafs@mellanox.com \
    --cc=shshaikh@marvell.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=srinivasan@marvell.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=sthotton@marvell.com \
    --cc=tdu@semihalf.com \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=tiwei.bie@intel.com \
    --cc=viacheslavo@mellanox.com \
    --cc=wenzhuo.lu@intel.com \
    --cc=xiao.w.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=xiaolong.ye@intel.com \
    --cc=xuanziyang2@huawei.com \
    --cc=yongwang@vmware.com \
    --cc=yskoh@mellanox.com \
    --cc=zhihong.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=zhouguoyang@huawei.com \
    --cc=zr@semihalf.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev/0 dpdk-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dpdk-dev dpdk-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev \
		dev@dpdk.org dpdk-dev@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index dpdk-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox