linux-arch.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Keith Packard <keithpac@amazon.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "Abbott Liu" <liuwenliang@huawei.com>,
	"Alexei Starovoitov" <ast@kernel.org>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Andrii Nakryiko" <andrii@kernel.org>,
	"Anshuman Khandual" <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ardb@kernel.org>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Ben Segall" <bsegall@google.com>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org, "Christoph Lameter" <cl@linux.com>,
	"Daniel Borkmann" <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	"Daniel Bristot de Oliveira" <bristot@redhat.com>,
	"Dennis Zhou" <dennis@kernel.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	"Dietmar Eggemann" <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Frank Rowand" <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Jason Wang" <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	"Jens Axboe" <axboe@kernel.dk>, "Joe Perches" <joe@perches.com>,
	"John Fastabend" <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	"Juri Lelli" <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	"Keith Packard" <keithpac@amazon.com>,
	"KP Singh" <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org, "Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, "Manivannan Sadhasivam" <mani@kernel.org>,
	"Marc Zyngier" <maz@kernel.org>,
	"Martin KaFai Lau" <kafai@fb.com>, "Mel Gorman" <mgorman@suse.de>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Miguel Ojeda" <ojeda@kernel.org>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@gooogle.com>,
	"Nicolas Pitre" <nico@fluxnic.net>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Song Liu" <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	"Srikar Dronamraju" <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Steven Rostedt" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Tejun Heo" <tj@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Valentin Schneider" <valentin.schneider@arm.com>,
	"Vincent Guittot" <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	"Wolfram Sang (Renesas)" <wsa+renesas@sang-engineering.com>,
	"YiFei Zhu" <yifeifz2@illinois.edu>, "Yonghong Song" <yhs@fb.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 5/7] ARM: Stop using TPIDRPRW to hold per_cpu_offset
Date: Wed,  8 Sep 2021 12:06:03 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210908190605.419064-6-keithpac@amazon.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210908190605.419064-1-keithpac@amazon.com>

We're going to store TPIDRPRW here instead

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithpac@amazon.com>
---
 arch/arm/include/asm/percpu.h | 31 -------------------------------
 arch/arm/kernel/setup.c       |  7 -------
 arch/arm/kernel/smp.c         |  3 ---
 3 files changed, 41 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/include/asm/percpu.h b/arch/arm/include/asm/percpu.h
index e2fcb3cfd3de..eeafcd6a3e01 100644
--- a/arch/arm/include/asm/percpu.h
+++ b/arch/arm/include/asm/percpu.h
@@ -7,37 +7,6 @@
 
 register unsigned long current_stack_pointer asm ("sp");
 
-/*
- * Same as asm-generic/percpu.h, except that we store the per cpu offset
- * in the TPIDRPRW. TPIDRPRW only exists on V6K and V7
- */
-#if defined(CONFIG_SMP) && !defined(CONFIG_CPU_V6)
-static inline void set_my_cpu_offset(unsigned long off)
-{
-	/* Set TPIDRPRW */
-	asm volatile("mcr p15, 0, %0, c13, c0, 4" : : "r" (off) : "memory");
-}
-
-static inline unsigned long __my_cpu_offset(void)
-{
-	unsigned long off;
-
-	/*
-	 * Read TPIDRPRW.
-	 * We want to allow caching the value, so avoid using volatile and
-	 * instead use a fake stack read to hazard against barrier().
-	 */
-	asm("mrc p15, 0, %0, c13, c0, 4" : "=r" (off)
-		: "Q" (*(const unsigned long *)current_stack_pointer));
-
-	return off;
-}
-#define __my_cpu_offset __my_cpu_offset()
-#else
-#define set_my_cpu_offset(x)	do {} while(0)
-
-#endif /* CONFIG_SMP */
-
 #include <asm-generic/percpu.h>
 
 #endif /* _ASM_ARM_PERCPU_H_ */
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/setup.c b/arch/arm/kernel/setup.c
index ca0201635fac..d0dc60afe54f 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/setup.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/setup.c
@@ -590,13 +590,6 @@ void __init smp_setup_processor_id(void)
 	for (i = 1; i < nr_cpu_ids; ++i)
 		cpu_logical_map(i) = i == cpu ? 0 : i;
 
-	/*
-	 * clear __my_cpu_offset on boot CPU to avoid hang caused by
-	 * using percpu variable early, for example, lockdep will
-	 * access percpu variable inside lock_release
-	 */
-	set_my_cpu_offset(0);
-
 	pr_info("Booting Linux on physical CPU 0x%x\n", mpidr);
 }
 
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c b/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c
index 5e999f1f1aea..8ccf10b34f08 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c
@@ -410,8 +410,6 @@ asmlinkage void secondary_start_kernel(unsigned int cpu, struct task_struct *tas
 {
 	struct mm_struct *mm = &init_mm;
 
-	set_my_cpu_offset(per_cpu_offset(cpu));
-
 	secondary_biglittle_init();
 
 	/*
@@ -495,7 +493,6 @@ void __init smp_cpus_done(unsigned int max_cpus)
 
 void __init smp_prepare_boot_cpu(void)
 {
-	set_my_cpu_offset(per_cpu_offset(smp_processor_id()));
 }
 
 void __init smp_prepare_cpus(unsigned int max_cpus)
-- 
2.33.0


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-09-08 19:13 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <id:20210907220038.91021-1-keithpac@amazon.com>
2021-09-08 19:05 ` [PATCH v4 0/7] ARM: support THREAD_INFO_IN_TASK Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:05   ` [PATCH v4 1/7] ARM: Pass cpu number to secondary_start_kernel Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 2/7] ARM: Pass task " Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 3/7] ARM: Use smp_processor_id() in vfp_pm_suspend instead of ti->cpu Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 4/7] Make sure task_struct is available for raw_smp_processor_id Keith Packard
2021-09-10 20:20     ` Rob Herring
2021-09-08 19:06   ` Keith Packard [this message]
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 6/7] ARM: Use TPIDRPRW for current Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 7/7] ARM: Move thread_info into task_struct (v7 only) Keith Packard

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210908190605.419064-6-keithpac@amazon.com \
    --to=keithpac@amazon.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=cl@linux.com \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=dennis@kernel.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=liuwenliang@huawei.com \
    --cc=mani@kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@gooogle.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nico@fluxnic.net \
    --cc=ojeda@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=wsa+renesas@sang-engineering.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yifeifz2@illinois.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 5/7] ARM: Stop using TPIDRPRW to hold per_cpu_offset' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).