Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	mhocko@suse.com, julien.thierry@arm.com,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	liuwenliang@huawei.com,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	kasan-dev@googlegroups.com,
	bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	drjones@redhat.com, Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>,
	philip@cog.systems, jinb.park7@gmail.com,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	christoffer.dall@arm.com, Rob Landley <rob@landley.net>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	thgarnie@google.com, kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 0/6] KASan for arm
Date: Tue, 2 Jul 2019 23:06:16 +0200
Message-ID: <CACRpkdbqW2kJNdPi6JPupaHA_qRTWG-MsUxeCz0c38MRujOSSA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190617221134.9930-1-f.fainelli@gmail.com>

Hi Florian,

On Tue, Jun 18, 2019 at 12:11 AM Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com> wrote:

> Abbott submitted a v5 about a year ago here:
>
> and the series was not picked up since then, so I rebased it against
> v5.2-rc4 and re-tested it on a Brahma-B53 (ARMv8 running AArch32 mode)
> and Brahma-B15, both LPAE and test-kasan is consistent with the ARM64
> counter part.
>
> We were in a fairly good shape last time with a few different people
> having tested it, so I am hoping we can get that included for 5.4 if
> everything goes well.

Thanks for picking this up. I was trying out KASan in the past,
got sidetracked and honestly lost interest a bit because it was
boring. But I do realize that it is really neat, so I will try to help
out with some review and test on a bunch of hardware I have.

At one point I even had this running on the ARMv4 SA1100
(no joke!) and if I recall correctly, I got stuck because of things
that might very well have been related to using a very fragile
Arm testchip that later broke down completely in the l2cache
when we added the spectre/meltdown fixes.

I start reviewing and testing.

Yours,
Linus Walleij

_______________________________________________
linux-arm-kernel mailing list
linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-arm-kernel

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-06-17 22:11 Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 1/6] ARM: Add TTBR operator for kasan_init Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:03   ` Linus Walleij
2019-07-11 16:54     ` Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 2/6] ARM: Disable instrumentation for some code Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:56   ` Linus Walleij
2019-07-11 16:53     ` Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 3/6] ARM: Replace memory function for kasan Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 4/6] ARM: Define the virtual space of KASan's shadow region Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 5/6] ARM: Initialize the mapping of KASan shadow memory Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 6/6] ARM: Enable KASan for arm Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:06 ` Linus Walleij [this message]
2019-07-11 17:00   ` [PATCH v6 0/6] " Florian Fainelli
2019-07-18  7:51     ` Arnd Bergmann

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACRpkdbqW2kJNdPi6JPupaHA_qRTWG-MsUxeCz0c38MRujOSSA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andre.przywara@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christoffer.dall@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=drjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jinb.park7@gmail.com \
    --cc=julien.thierry@arm.com \
    --cc=kasan-dev@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=liuwenliang@huawei.com \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=nico@fluxnic.net \
    --cc=philip@cog.systems \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=rob@landley.net \
    --cc=ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thgarnie@google.com \
    --cc=vladimir.murzin@arm.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/0 linux-arm-kernel/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/1 linux-arm-kernel/git/1.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-arm-kernel linux-arm-kernel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel \
		linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org infradead-linux-arm-kernel@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-arm-kernel


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-arm-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox