Linux-ARM-MSM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>
To: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	Jonathan Chocron <jonnyc@amazon.com>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Zhou Wang <wangzhou1@hisilicon.com>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@axis.com, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-omap@vger.kernel.org, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org, linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 0/2] Convert designware-pcie and kirin-pcie to yaml
Date: Tue, 26 Jan 2021 08:35:05 +0100
Message-ID: <cover.1611645945.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org> (raw)

Rob,

As I'm preparing some upstream patches for kirin-pcie driver to support
Hikey 970, I opted to try first to convert the existing schema to yaml.

It should be noticed that those two patches currently won't pass
cleanly with dtbs_check/dt_binding_check.

I'm out of ideas about how to fix. It sounds to me that the checking
tools are trying to enforce different types of reference types than
the ones used by designware drivers.:

$ make CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu- ARCH=arm64 DT_SCHEMA_FILES=Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/designware,pcie.yaml dt_binding_check
  LINT    Documentation/devicetree/bindings
  DTEX    Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/designware,pcie.example.dts
  CHKDT   Documentation/devicetree/bindings/processed-schema-examples.json
  SCHEMA  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/processed-schema-examples.json
  DTC     Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/designware,pcie.example.dt.yaml
  CHECK   Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/designware,pcie.example.dt.yaml


		[[2164260864, 0, 0, 3724541952, 0, 65536, 2181038080, 0, 3493855232, 3493855232, 0, 218103808]] is not of type 'boolean'
		True was expected
		[[2164260864, 0, 0, 3724541952, 0, 65536, 2181038080, 0, 3493855232, 3493855232, 0, 218103808]] is not of type 'null'
	[2164260864, 0, 0, 3724541952, 0, 65536, 2181038080, 0, 3493855232, 3493855232, 0, 218103808] is too long
	From schema: /home/mchehab/.local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/dtschema/schemas/pci/pci-bus.yaml

$ make CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu- ARCH=arm64 DT_SCHEMA_FILES=Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.yaml dt_binding_check
  DTEX    Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.example.dts
  DTC     Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.example.dt.yaml
  CHECK   Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.example.dt.yaml
/devel/v4l/hikey970/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.example.dt.yaml: pcie@f4000000: 'reset-gpios' does not match any of the regexes: 'pinctrl-[0-9]+'
	From schema: /devel/v4l/hikey970/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.yaml
/devel/v4l/hikey970/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.example.dt.yaml: pcie@f4000000: '#interrupt-cells', 'bus-range', 'clock-names', 'clocks', 'device_type', 'interrupt-map', 'interrupt-map-mask', 'num-lanes', 'ranges' do not match any of the regexes: 'pinctrl-[0-9]+'
	From schema: /devel/v4l/hikey970/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.yaml

I ran out of ideas about how to solve that. So, I'm posting it as a RFC.

Mauro Carvalho Chehab (2):
  dt: pci: designware-pcie.txt: convert it to yaml
  dt: pci: kirin-pcie.txt: convert it to yaml

 .../bindings/pci/amlogic,meson-pcie.txt       |   4 +-
 .../bindings/pci/axis,artpec6-pcie.txt        |   2 +-
 .../bindings/pci/designware,pcie.yaml         | 194 ++++++++++++++++++
 .../bindings/pci/designware-pcie.txt          |  77 -------
 .../bindings/pci/fsl,imx6q-pcie.txt           |   2 +-
 .../bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.yaml    |  98 +++++++++
 .../bindings/pci/hisilicon-histb-pcie.txt     |   2 +-
 .../bindings/pci/hisilicon-pcie.txt           |   2 +-
 .../devicetree/bindings/pci/kirin-pcie.txt    |  50 -----
 .../bindings/pci/layerscape-pci.txt           |   2 +-
 .../bindings/pci/nvidia,tegra194-pcie.txt     |   4 +-
 .../devicetree/bindings/pci/pci-armada8k.txt  |   2 +-
 .../devicetree/bindings/pci/pci-keystone.txt  |  10 +-
 .../devicetree/bindings/pci/pcie-al.txt       |   2 +-
 .../devicetree/bindings/pci/qcom,pcie.txt     |  14 +-
 .../bindings/pci/samsung,exynos5440-pcie.txt  |   4 +-
 .../pci/socionext,uniphier-pcie-ep.yaml       |   2 +-
 .../devicetree/bindings/pci/ti-pci.txt        |   4 +-
 .../devicetree/bindings/pci/uniphier-pcie.txt |   2 +-
 MAINTAINERS                                   |   4 +-
 20 files changed, 323 insertions(+), 158 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/designware,pcie.yaml
 delete mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/designware-pcie.txt
 create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/hisilicon,kirin-pcie.yaml
 delete mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pci/kirin-pcie.txt

-- 
2.29.2



             reply index

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-26  7:35 Mauro Carvalho Chehab [this message]
2021-01-26  7:35 ` [PATCH RFC 1/2] dt: pci: designware-pcie.txt: convert it " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-01-26 10:13   ` Marek Szyprowski
2021-01-27  7:48     ` Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-01-26 15:42   ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=cover.1611645945.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --to=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jonnyc@amazon.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=wangzhou1@hisilicon.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ARM-MSM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-msm/0 linux-arm-msm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-arm-msm linux-arm-msm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-msm \
		linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-arm-msm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-arm-msm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git