Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
To: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>,
	Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>,
	Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [RFC 3/3] tools/memory-model: Add litmus test for RMW + smp_mb__after_atomic()
Date: Fri, 14 Feb 2020 09:18:26 +0100
Message-ID: <20200214081826.GB17708@andrea> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200214061537.GA20408@debian-boqun.qqnc3lrjykvubdpftowmye0fmh.lx.internal.cloudapp.net>

> > @@ -0,0 +1,29 @@
> > +C Atomic-RMW+mb__after_atomic-is-strong-acquire
> > +
> > +(*
> > + * Result: Never
> > + *
> > + * Test of an atomic RMW followed by a smp_mb__after_atomic() is
> > + * "strong-acquire": both the read and write part of the RMW is ordered before
> > + * the subsequential memory accesses.
> > + *)
> > +
> > +{
> > +}
> > +
> > +P0(int *x, atomic_t *y)
> > +{
> > +	r0 = READ_ONCE(*x);
> > +	smp_rmb();
> > +	r1 = atomic_read(y);

IIRC, klitmus7 needs a declaration for these local variables, say
(trying to keep herd7 happy):

P0(int *x, atomic_t *y)
{
	int r0;
	int r1;

	r0 = READ_ONCE(*x);
	smp_rmb();
	r1 = atomic_read(y);
}

Thanks,
  Andrea

  reply index

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-14  4:01 [RFC 0/3] tools/memory-model: Add litmus tests for atomic APIs Boqun Feng
2020-02-14  4:01 ` [RFC 1/3] Documentation/locking/atomic: Fix atomic-set litmus test Boqun Feng
2020-02-14  4:01 ` [RFC 2/3] tools/memory-model: Add a litmus test for atomic_set() Boqun Feng
2020-02-14  8:12   ` Andrea Parri
2020-02-14 10:40     ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-25  7:34       ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-25 13:01         ` Luc Maranget
2020-02-26  2:51           ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-14 15:47   ` Alan Stern
2020-02-14 23:52     ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-17 11:02       ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-02-14  4:01 ` [RFC 3/3] tools/memory-model: Add litmus test for RMW + smp_mb__after_atomic() Boqun Feng
2020-02-14  6:15   ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-14  8:18     ` Andrea Parri [this message]
2020-02-14  8:20       ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-14 15:58   ` Alan Stern
2020-02-15  0:09     ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-14  9:55 ` [RFC 0/3] tools/memory-model: Add litmus tests for atomic APIs Peter Zijlstra
2020-02-14 10:20 ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-02-14 15:27 ` Alan Stern
2020-02-14 23:39   ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-15 15:25   ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-02-16  5:43     ` Boqun Feng
2020-02-16 12:06       ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-02-16 16:16         ` Alan Stern
2020-02-17  1:27           ` Boqun Feng

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200214081826.GB17708@andrea \
    --to=parri.andrea@gmail.com \
    --cc=akiyks@gmail.com \
    --cc=boqun.feng@gmail.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dlustig@nvidia.com \
    --cc=j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luc.maranget@inria.fr \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc/0 linux-doc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-doc linux-doc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc \
		linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-doc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-doc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git