Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Harish Jenny K N <harish_kandiga@mentor.com>,
	Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>,
	Alexander Graf <graf@amazon.com>,
	Peter Maydell <peter.maydell@linaro.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Phil Reid <preid@electromag.com.au>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@arm.com>,
	Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-Renesas <linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	QEMU Developers <qemu-devel@nongnu.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 3/5] gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator
Date: Tue, 17 Mar 2020 12:32:31 +0100
Message-ID: <CAMuHMdWXJKdD7j6QiRb4fL+fFsyDKpc7aGK-nER=CZd7bxGyPg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200218151812.7816-4-geert+renesas@glider.be>

On Tue, Feb 18, 2020 at 4:18 PM Geert Uytterhoeven
<geert+renesas@glider.be> wrote:
> GPIO controllers are exported to userspace using /dev/gpiochip*
> character devices.  Access control to these devices is provided by
> standard UNIX file system permissions, on an all-or-nothing basis:
> either a GPIO controller is accessible for a user, or it is not.
> Currently no mechanism exists to control access to individual GPIOs.
>
> Hence add a GPIO driver to aggregate existing GPIOs, and expose them as
> a new gpiochip.
>
> This supports the following use cases:
>   - Aggregating GPIOs using Sysfs
>     This is useful for implementing access control, and assigning a set
>     of GPIOs to a specific user or virtual machine.
>   - Generic GPIO Driver
>     This is useful for industrial control, where it can provide
>     userspace access to a simple GPIO-operated device described in DT,
>     cfr. e.g. spidev for SPI-operated devices.
>
> Signed-off-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>

> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/drivers/gpio/gpio-aggregator.c

> +static int gpio_fwd_set_config(struct gpio_chip *chip, unsigned int offset,
> +                              unsigned long config)
> +{
> +       struct gpiochip_fwd *fwd = gpiochip_get_data(chip);
> +
> +       chip = fwd->descs[offset]->gdev->chip;
> +       if (chip->set_config)

-       chip = fwd->descs[offset]->gdev->chip;
-       if (chip->set_config)
+       chip = gpiod_to_chip(fwd->descs[offset]);
+       if (chip && chip->set_config)

> +               return chip->set_config(chip, offset, config);

This is not correct: offset should be translated, too, i.e.

    offset = gpio_chip_hwgpio(fwd->descs[offset]);

Which adds a new dependency on "gpiolib.h"...

Is there a better alternative, than providing a public gpiod_set_config()
helper?
Thanks!

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

-- 
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-18 15:18 [PATCH v5 0/5] " Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 1/5] gpiolib: Add support for gpiochipN-based table lookup Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-12 14:23   ` Linus Walleij
2020-03-17  8:41     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 2/5] gpiolib: Add support for GPIO line " Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-19 10:17   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-12 14:21   ` Linus Walleij
2020-03-17  8:48     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 3/5] gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-12 14:57   ` Linus Walleij
2020-03-17 10:50     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-17 11:32   ` Geert Uytterhoeven [this message]
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 4/5] docs: gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator documentation Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 18:29   ` Randy Dunlap
2020-02-18 19:09     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-21 16:34     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-21 16:35       ` Randy Dunlap
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 5/5] MAINTAINERS: Add GPIO Aggregator section Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 17:04 ` [PATCH v5 0/5] gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator Eugeniu Rosca
2020-02-21 16:39 ` Geert Uytterhoeven

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAMuHMdWXJKdD7j6QiRb4fL+fFsyDKpc7aGK-nER=CZd7bxGyPg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=christoffer.dall@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=erosca@de.adit-jv.com \
    --cc=graf@amazon.com \
    --cc=harish_kandiga@mentor.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peter.maydell@linaro.org \
    --cc=preid@electromag.com.au \
    --cc=qemu-devel@nongnu.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc/0 linux-doc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-doc linux-doc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc \
		linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-doc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-doc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git