linux-mips.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tbogendoerfer@suse.de>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>,
	James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>, Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org,
	"open list:SERIAL DRIVERS" <linux-serial@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v11 net-next 2/2] mfd: ioc3: Add driver for SGI IOC3 chip
Date: Thu, 19 Dec 2019 10:35:10 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20191219103510.9f6e41b3a9339533e245ea53@suse.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdY+2Z90n6zNZbQpmGCWYAH4PzEOv8puOkwbrcxCk_Eq2A@mail.gmail.com>

On Thu, 19 Dec 2019 09:28:42 +0100
Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> wrote:

> On Fri, Dec 13, 2019 at 1:43 PM Thomas Bogendoerfer
> <tbogendoerfer@suse.de> wrote:
> 
> > SGI IOC3 chip has integrated ethernet, keyboard and mouse interface.
> > It also supports connecting a SuperIO chip for serial and parallel
> > interfaces. IOC3 is used inside various SGI systemboards and add-on
> > cards with different equipped external interfaces.
> >
> > Support for ethernet and serial interfaces were implemented inside
> > the network driver. This patchset moves out the not network related
> > parts to a new MFD driver, which takes care of card detection,
> > setup of platform devices and interrupt distribution for the subdevices.
> >
> > Serial portion: Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> > Acked-for-MFD-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tbogendoerfer@suse.de>
> 
> This makes the kernel a better place:
> Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>

Thank you.

> Will there be a GPIO driver arriving later?

as far as I found out, GPIOs are used as reset line for the ethernet phy
and for two leds in the SGI Octanes. So far I've never needed the phy reset
and since there are exclusive registers per GPIO I'm using these registers
directly in the coming LED driver.

Thomas.

-- 
SUSE Software Solutions Germany GmbH
HRB 36809 (AG Nürnberg)
Geschäftsführer: Felix Imendörffer

      reply	other threads:[~2019-12-19  9:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-12-13 12:42 [PATCH v11 net-next 0/2] Use MFD framework for SGI IOC3 drivers Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-12-13 12:42 ` [PATCH v11 net-next 1/2] MIPS: SGI-IP27: fix readb/writeb addressing Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-12-13 12:42 ` [PATCH v11 net-next 2/2] mfd: ioc3: Add driver for SGI IOC3 chip Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-12-15 20:27   ` Jakub Kicinski
2019-12-16 16:00     ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-12-17  8:02       ` Lee Jones
2019-12-19  8:28   ` Linus Walleij
2019-12-19  9:35     ` Thomas Bogendoerfer [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191219103510.9f6e41b3a9339533e245ea53@suse.de \
    --to=tbogendoerfer@suse.de \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-serial@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=paulburton@kernel.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v11 net-next 2/2] mfd: ioc3: Add driver for SGI IOC3 chip' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).